#bookhangover · Bookouture · debut novel · Louise Jensen · New blog · New home · The Sister

#bookhangover with Louise Jensen

So, considering that this term was first introduced to me after reading the brilliant debut novel The Sister by Louise Jensen, it seemed rather fitting that I invited her to be my first guest post so …

It gives me great pleasure to welcome Louise to my blog today and here are the 8 questions I asked her about her life #hangovers so it’s over to Louise …

1. Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Louise Jensen and I wrote my first novel, The Sister, alongside working as a mindfulness coach, but I’m currently concentrating on writing full time.

(#ETLBW – The Sister sat at #No1 across several countries for weeks AND knocked J.K Rowling off the top spot 4 days after her most recent Harry Potter book was released – LJ is far too modest here!)

2. What gives you an actual hangover?

Red wine! It’s not my friend but I do love it. I’m not sure if it’s an age thing but the older I get, the more alcohol tends to keep me awake at nights. I can’t resist a glass of good red though.

3. What TV programme?

I think I’d have to go with Friends. I was in my early 20’s when it first burst onto the scene and I felt I’ve really grown up along with the characters, settling down, buying a home (although I haven’t aged half as well as the female cast!) For ten years Friends was an integral part of my weekly viewing and I missed it enormously when it drew to a close.

4. What film?

Hmmm not sure if I should go with something super intelligent with a deep meaning and subtitles, but I’m going to choose E.T. I’ve watched it countless times, and so have my children under protest, and the ending always brings a lump to my throat. These, days it’s easy to feel nostalgic about the 80’s. Each time I watch the scene with the flying bikes I still find myself leaning forward, urging them on.

5. What song?

Literally anything by the Counting Crows. I’m slightly obsessed. Adam Duritz, to my mind, is one of the greatest writers of our time. His songs, particularly on the early albums are so full of emotion and are open, raw and achingly honest. Whenever I feel a little stuck writing I always stick on a Crow’s cd and Adam’s beautifully haunting lyrics never fail to inspire me.

6. What food?

I love ALL the food. There’s very little I don’t eat or don’t enjoy. There’s nothing quite like cheese though. An ideal night in for me consists of a good book, or movie, a decent bottle of wine and mountains and mountains of cheese, crackers and chutneys.

7. What person/people?

My family without a doubt. My children are growing. My eldest son has already left home, and my teenager is busy with work and college. To have my three boys in the same place, at the same time, takes some strategic planning nowadays.

8. Finally, which book?

The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton were the books that hooked me as a reader, all those years ago and I can still remember my despair when I realised I’d finished the set. I’ve read them many, many times since.

Thanks so much for inviting me onto your blog, Emma. It’s been fun. Louise x

You can follow Louise on Twitter at @fab_fiction and http://www.fabricatingfiction.wordpress.com where you will find some amazing short stories and details on her work in the Mindfulness field.

Thanks so much for being my first feature post guest Louise! It’s been a real pleasure getting to know you a little bit more xx

Don’t forget, if you would like to feature in a future #bookhangover post then please get in touch x

4 thoughts on “#bookhangover with Louise Jensen

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

