Audible · Mel Comley · review

#Audiable #Review #SoleIntention by Mel Comley @MelCom1

Hello my lovelies,

I have another ‘different’ review for you all today, it’s for my first ever audio book!

Thanks to Mel Comley, earlier this month I popped my audio book cherry with a copy of her fantastic book, Sole Intention.

Here’s the blurb . . .

Former police officers Ellen Brazil and Brian Lynx have joined forces to start a successful missing persons investigation firm which has just been contracted to find the wife of bodybuilder Will Endersbe. Ellen discovers that a number of women with similar features and hair colour have also vanished in the Worcester area. Ellen and Brian suspect a serial kidnapper is to blame, and without a body, the police are happy to leave the case in their hands to solve.

Hoping the women are still alive, Ellen digs for clues and races to find the women, despite her troubled private life and a meddlesome stepfather with a violent secret.

My thoughts . . .

I’m going to split this into two parts, first the book itself . . .

I FLIPPING LOVED IT!!!!!!!

Ellen and Brian are great characters, ex police officers who have turned their hands to finding missing people and when they are asked to investigate the disappearance of several woman, who all look the same, things turn very sinister indeed.

Ellen and Brian have a great relationship. They are clearly great friends and each offers something different to their business, complementing the other perfectly.

This is such a hard and gritty book, told mainly from Ellen’s perspective we follow her as she tried to find the missing ladies, whilst also juggling with her own personal issues. We also get chapters told from the point of view of the villain, these are some of the creepiest and most shocking parts of books I have ever read!

I was hooked to the story from the first word, it really does pull you in and make you not want to stop reading – sorry – listening!!!

Without spoiling anything, I would highly recommend this book, I am ashamed to say this is my first Mel Comely book, however, that just means I have loads to look forward to!!!!

So . . . the audible side . . .

I wasn’t too sure about it at first, it’s quite strange having never listened to a book before. I typically have something to focus on, the book, kindle but with the audio version, I didn’t have to ‘do’ anything. Just sit there. Which is not something I do very often! I found myself listening whilst cleaning, or cooking or walking to school at home time, which meant I wasn’t concentrating on it properly. I eventually had to stop myself doing that and started colouring whilst I listened.

It took me quite a while to finish it purely because I felt I couldn’t just sit and listen but once I got over that, I finished it really quickly.

I wasn’t overly keen on the narrative, it was quite stilted at times and, although I didn’t expect a full cast, I found the ‘voices’ weren’t really that distinctive and occasionally I wasn’t sure who was talking.

Overall . . .

I loved Mel’s writing! It’s brilliant, she has a great ability to suck you into a world so brilliantly created and I can’t wait to read some more! I am also giving audible another chance and am currently listening to Dark Fragments by Rob Sinclair, which is brilliant!

Thanks so much Mel for helping me pop my audio book cherry!!!

You can get your copy over at Amazon UK

About Mel . . .

New York Times, USA Today, Amazon Top 20 bestselling author, iBooks top 5 bestselling and #2 bestselling author on Barnes and Noble. Over one million copies sold world wide. I am a British author who moved to France in 2002, and that’s when I turned my hobby into a career. I’m fortunate to be represented by a top New York agent.

I share my home with two crazy dogs that like nothing better than to drag their masterful leader (that’s me) around the village.

I hope you enjoy reading my books, especially the Justice series, Cruel Justice, Impeding Justice, Final Justice, Foul Justice, Guaranteed Justice, Ultimate Justice, Virtual Justice, Hostile Justice, Tortured Justice, Rough Justice, Dubious Justice, Calculated Justice and the novella Blind Justice.

As well as the DI Sally Parker thriller series, WRONG PLACE and NO HIDING PLACE

Also available in the Hero series, TORN APART and END RESULT.

Plus two books in the Intention series, SOLE INTENTION and GRAVE INTENTION.

If you’d like to keep up to date with new releases you can find me on facebook by following this link http://smarturl.it/sps7jh or sign up for my newsletter http://www.smarturl.it/8jtcvv

If you fancy a lighter read, why not try one of my romances: A Time to Heal, and A Time for Change–Based on a TRUE story. I also have a selection of short stories and novelettes available which I know you’ll enjoy.

You can find out more about me at the following blogs.

http://melcomley.blogspot.com

http://melcomleyromances.blogspot.com

4 thoughts on “#Audiable #Review #SoleIntention by Mel Comley @MelCom1

  1. I love audiobooks but find that confusing narration can ruin a story for me. If you haven’t read YOU by Caroline Kepnes give that a try on audio, it has the most fantastic narrator, Santana Fontana, I’ve every heard!!

    Like

    1. Luckily isn’t ‘bad’ enough to ruin the story but it certainly had an impact on my listening. I’m listening to Dark Fragments now and it’s a completely different experience! The narrator, Matt Bates, is brilliant! He ‘does’ voices and has a really comforting voice.

      I’ll certainly look out for that one, thanks for recommending it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

