Blog Tour · review

#BlogTour #Review Beneath the Ashes by Jane Issac @LegendPress @JaneIsaacAuthor

9781785079474I am delighted to be on the blog tour for Jane Isaac’s latest novel, Beneath the Ashes today!

Legend Press (1 Nov. 2016)

The blurb . . .

The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.

When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.

Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret.

Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim?

A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

My thoughts . . .

When Nancy wakes up on the floor of her boyfriends kitchen with a terrible headache, an obviously broken into house, blood on the floor and no recollection of how any of it happened, she immediately goes in search of Evan. But she doesn’t find him. Anywhere.

DI Will Jackman is leading the investigation, into a body found burned in a barn on the same farm that Nancy woke up on. But it’s not Evan, it’s Richard Garrett. Or is it Evan? Nancy has no idea anymore and as secrets start to unravel, she isn’t sure of anything anymore.

Beneath the Ashes is a brilliantly sleek crime drama and the characters are great. They are written with such depth and such intelligence that you cannot help but love them. This is the first book I have read by Jane but it will not be my last!

I loved how intelligently she wove her web of lies and deceit, tangling us up in different aspects of the characters lives. I loved how there were no unnecessary, over gratuitous aspects of the investigation with unrealistic shoot outs or the like.

It was gripping in a very different way as the focus was not only on the police side of the book, but also on the personal lives of the characters, both the police and the general characters and I really enjoyed that! It makes a refreshing change and I loved it.

Once the pace did pick up, boy did it pick up and as the story unravelled and the various plots came together, I was leave reeling at the outcome!

I would highly recommend Beneath the Ashes, and would like to thank Legend Press for sending me a review copy.

About the author . . .

Jane IsaacJane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire, UK. Her debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.’

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by E-thriller.com and winner of ‘Noveltunity book club selection – May 2014’.

In 2015 Jane embarked on a new series, featuring DI Will Jackman and set in Stratford upon Avon, with Before It’s Too Late. The second in the series, Beneath The Ashes, will be published by Legend Press on 1st November 2016 with the 3rd, The Lies Within, to follow on 2nd May 2017.

Both DI Jackman and DCI Lavery will return again in the near future. Sign up to Jane’s newsletter on her website at http://www.janeisaac.co.uk for details of new releases, events and giveaways.

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour #Review Beneath the Ashes by Jane Issac @LegendPress @JaneIsaacAuthor

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s