#BlogTour · Ordena Books

Rod Reynold’s #BlackReedBay is MORE than, you know, just more than the usual book? It’s an absolute #sleepstealer and I couldn’t get enough of it! Here’s my #blogtour #review @Rod_WR @OrendaBooks

Black Reed Bay is a mesmerising crime thriller that sucked me in from the first page and didn’t let up until the very end and I loved every second of reading it.

Before I share my review, here’s the blurb…

When a young woman vanishes from an exclusive oceanfront community in the middle of the night, Detective Casey Wray’s takes on a case that leads her in chilling, unexpected directions … A twisty, breath-taking police procedural. First in a heart-pounding new series.

Don’t trust ANYONE…

When a young woman makes a distressing middle-of-the-night call to 911, apparently running for her life in a quiet, exclusive beachside neighbourhood, miles from her home, everything suggests a domestic incident.

Except no one has seen her since, and something doesn’t sit right with the officers at Hampstead County PD. With multiple suspects and witnesses throwing up startling inconsistencies, and interference from the top threatening the integrity of the investigation, lead detective Casey Wray is thrust into an increasingly puzzling case that looks like it’s going to have only one ending…

And then the first body appears…

For fans of Susie Steiner, Peter Swanson, M J Arlidge, James Lee Burke, and Tana French.

Here’re my thoughts…

What a bloody triumph this one is! I’ve never been to America. My only experience of the country is what I see on the tellybox or read in the books but Black Reed Bay has an authenticity to it that made me feel I was there. Think the Harry Bosch series by Michael Connelly… I was pulled into a world I didn’t want to leave. The tension and suspicion, deception and discomfort woven throughout the plot made for a web of lies and secrets that left me breathless at times.

Detective Casey Wray and her partner Cullen are the perfect team. Each bringing something special to the investigation in terms of their policing skills and personalities, and it’s a combination that works oh so well. They’re a standout partnership and the journey they follow in this, the first instalment of the series, is stunningly written. Wray is certainly one to look out for, and if Reynolds keeps up with her in the same manner for the next book, it wouldn’t surprise me if the TV studios came calling. It would be great to see another strong female detective like her on screen…

There’s something special about Reynold’s writing. Something clever and glowing. Something just right. That combination of fear and discomfort mixed with seductive characters and intricate plots, stunning story and character arc that all make a book more. More than just words on a page. More than just a quick read you’ll forget in a day or two. Just… More. You know what I mean, right?

Well, that’s Black Reed Bay.

So, I suggest you stop reading this, hit the link below, get your copy purchased, and settle in for a rollercoaster ride of a read! You’ll thank me later!

Off you pop:

Hugest thanks to the team at Orenda for my review copy and place on the tour. What an honour to review this one!

I’m sharing today’s #blogtour date with the fabulous Raven Crime Reads, head over there to see what she thinks…

About the author…

Rod Reynolds is the author of five novels, including the Charlie Yates series, the standalone Blood Red City and the forthcoming Black Reed Bay.

His 2015 debut, The Dark Inside, was longlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger, and was followed by Black Night Falling (2016) and Cold Desert Sky (2018); the Guardian have called the books ‘Pitch-perfect American noir.’ A lifelong Londoner, in 2020 Orenda Books published his first novel set in his hometown, Blood Red City, which was a Summer 2020 pick in the FT. In 2021, he again turns to the US, this time to present-day Long Island, with Black Reed Bay.

Rod previously worked in advertising as a media buyer, and holds an MA in Novel Writing from City University London. Rod lives with his wife and children and spends most of his time trying to keep up with them.

Contact him:

http://www.rodreynolds.com

twitter: @Rod_WR

facebook: @RodReynoldsBooks

2 thoughts on “Rod Reynold’s #BlackReedBay is MORE than, you know, just more than the usual book? It’s an absolute #sleepstealer and I couldn’t get enough of it! Here’s my #blogtour #review @Rod_WR @OrendaBooks

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.