Book Review · gripping · HQ Story · Louise Jensen

Some books touch your soul, and The Life We Almost Had by Amelia Henley is one such diamond. Here’s my review @MsAmeliaHenley @RoryScarfe @HQstories @Fab_fiction

Good evening, bookworms!

Something a little different from me tonight. In another stray away from the gory crime thrillers I adore, I’ve taken a step over to the light side and devoured The Life Was Almost Had by Amelia Henley.

Technically, this is a debut book… I say technically because Henley is actually Jensen. As in Louise Jensen. As in, one of the most talked about authors on my blog because I adore everything she has written. And this one is NO different.

If you’ve read Jensen’s work, you’ll know what I mean I talk about the emotion and tension she pours onto the pages of her thrillers… Now imagine that but with pure, unadulterated love and affection… Let me tell you. It makes for some powerful chapters, with scenes so raw I was sobbing into my pillow…

Mind you, all Jensen’s books have made me cry but anyway…

Before I carry on, here’s the blurb…

The Life We Almost Had: the most romantic and heartbreaking debut love story of 2020 by [Amelia Henley]

HQ (23 July 2020)

This is not a typical love story, but it’s our love story.

Anna wasn’t looking for love when Adam swept her off her feet but there was no denying their connection, and she believed they would be together forever.

Years later, cracks have appeared in their relationship. Anna is questioning whether their love can really be eternal when a cruel twist of fate delivers a crushing blow, and Anna and Adam are completely lost to one another. Now, Anna needs Adam more than ever, but the way back to him has life-changing consequences.

Is a second chance at first love really worth the sacrifice? Anna needs to decide and time is running out…

A beautiful and emotional love story that asks, how far would you go for a second chance at first love? Perfect for fans of The Man Who Didn’t Call and Miss You.

My thoughts…

The Life We Almost Had is a breathtakingly stunning deviation from the psychological thrillers Jensen is known for.

One of the things I have always admired about her is her ability to hit me right in the heart with her words. Her thrillers are full emotion, and not the type you’ll be used to if you read predominantly in the crime genre like I do. But it works. Boy does it work.

And as Amelia Henley, she is free to write whole books without dead bodies and gore and that tension the genre is known for.

What we get with Henley is love, and hope, and friendship, and all the good things we want and crave in a relationship.

I was swept away by Anna and Adam’s story. It hit me right in the gut how much they adored each other and as their relationship and story develops, so did my adoration for them… And Henley. With her usual style, she pulls you into the world she has created, the characters she has masterfully developed, and you will get lost in it all from the first page until the last.

It’s a huge step for an author to take a jaunt into a new genre but this is done to perfection. If you read Jensen’s work, you’ll know this is her writing, there’s no mistaking her flair and skill, but it’s not her either.

It’s new.

It’s fresh.

It’s stunning.

I urge you to get this one ordered – it’s out on Thursday 23 July. It will certainly melt the heart of the most hardened crime fans out there!

I BLOODY LOVED IT!

Go and grab your copy now!

About the author…

Amelia Henley is a hopeless romantic who has a penchant for exploring the intricacies of relationships through writing heartbreaking, high-concept love stories.

Amelia also writes psychological thrillers under her real name, Louise Jensen. As Louise Jensen she has sold over a million copies of her global number one bestsellers. Her stories have been translated into twenty-five languages and optioned for TV as well as featuring on the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestsellers list. Louise’s books have been nominated for multiple awards.

The Life We Almost Had is the first story she’s written as Amelia Henley and she can’t wait to share it with readers.

2 thoughts on “Some books touch your soul, and The Life We Almost Had by Amelia Henley is one such diamond. Here’s my review @MsAmeliaHenley @RoryScarfe @HQstories @Fab_fiction

  1. Oh wow, this sounds like a great read. Anything that gets you in the emotions is a winner in my mind. Will definitely check this out, thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.