#BlogTour · Bookouture · EmmaTheLittleBookworm

Can I Give My Husband Back? by Kirsten Bailey is brilliant, hilarious, heartbreaking, and filled with so much emotion… What a wonderful read! Here’s my thoughts for the blog tour! @mrsbaileywrites @bookouture @sarahhardy681

I am truly honoured to be kicking off the blog tour for Kristen Bailey’s latest book, Can I Give My Husband Back?.

Sometimes, an author comes along and changes your life. Bonkers, isn’t it? But that’s the power of words…Kristen Bailey is one such author for me.

Regular readers of my blog will know I typically read crime fiction. Blood, guts, and gore are normally needed for me to enjoy a book. But this year I promised myself I’d push out of my comfort zone with the genres I read and I fell head over in heels in love with Kristen Bailey’s writing when I read Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life a few months ago, and that love deepened after the next in the series, Can I Give My Husband Back?

We are back with the Callaghan sisters but this time it’s Emma. Eldest of the group, Emma is a pediatric heart surgeon at a top London hospital and is recently divorced from Simon.

Before I share my thoughts, here’s the blurb…

Can I Give My Husband Back?: A totally laugh out loud and uplifting page turner by [Kristen Bailey]

Bookouture (19 Jun. 2020)

It’s normal to prefer getting a filling at the dentist’s to spending time with your husband, right?

I thought I was sorted on the life front. I was a heart surgeon with a loving partner and two gorgeous little girls. Except my husband’s version of ‘loving’ is lying, cheating and sleeping his way around London. Which means I definitely deserve a refund.

Unfortunately, moving on isn’t that simple. Just because I know how to operate on a heart doesn’t mean I know how to fix my broken one. Plus, I lost the receipt for him years ago so I’m definitely getting short changed.

But now I’m single, am I ready to mingle? There are a few minor issues:

1) The last time I went on a date double denim was in fashion and my eyebrows were horrendously overplucked.
2) Men wear stupidly skinny jeans now.
3) I don’t know how to use dating apps but at least I don’t have to get changed out of my pyjamas.
4) Sometimes the most promising thing you have in common with a guy is a shared love of prawns.
5) I don’t know whether to open a date with ‘hi’ or ‘hello’ or ‘hey’ and once I ended up saying ‘howdy’.

Everything happens for a reason, they say. There’s plenty more fish in the sea. But what happens when everything falls apart and you haven’t got a clue how to go fishing?

An absolutely hilarious and utterly relatable tale for anyone who has ever survived a nightmare relationship, felt a little lonely or nursed a broken heart with wine and carbs. This feel-good novel will get you back on your feet and genuinely laughing out loud. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella.

My thoughts…

There’s something truly special about Kristen Bailey’s writing…

I laughed all the way through book one in this series, Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life, you can read my review here.

Now, you don’t need to have read that first as this one focusses on a different sister, Emma… Emma is the oldest of the five Callaghan sisters and she has it all. Surgeon husband. Heart surgeon herself. Two beautiful daughters. Stunning home. And a husband who loves her in his own special way. By shagging anyone who will have him. Sometimes even on her breakfast bar.

Emma stays with Simon for the sake of the children. Until she can’t do it to herself any longer. She finally leaves him and they move on. Divorced.

I fell in love with Emma almost immediately. We meet her in an hilarious exchange of text messages with younger sister Lucy, who is giving her dating advice.

She is strong, together, successful, a wonderful mother and sister, and she is navigating the world on her own for the first time. While she is all those things, she is also hurting. Understandably. She and Simon went through medical school together. They were the couple. But he just wasn’t satisfied.

We follow Emma through the trials and tribulations of finding her feet as a single mother and boy is it brilliant reading.

Bailey catches the emotions of what Emma is going through perfectly. I was hurting with her. I laughed, I cried, I loved. I felt everything Emma did and that is the sign of an amazing author. The intensity of the emotions she manages to fill the pages with is wonderful.

This is one book I will be shouting about forever!

You need to read this one, bookworms. Seriously! It’s fantastic.

Thanks you so much to the author and the team at Bookouture for my spot on the tour, what an honour!

Go and get your copy now!

About the author…

Kristen Bailey

Mother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love and family.

You can find out more about her at her website: http://www.kristenbaileywrites.com.
You can also find her on Twitter (@mrsbaileywrites), Instagram (@kristenbaileywrites) and Facebook.

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.