#BlogTour · Bookouture

Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life is the most hilarious book I EVER read! Ever!!! Kristen Bailey, You nailed it! Happy publication day! @mrsbaileywrites @bookouture

I started reading Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life in bed one night. Within about ten seconds I was laughing my head off. My husband was suitably disgruntled… not because I’d woken him up, but because, in his words, ‘Tha shunt be laughing like tha’ in’t bedroom… t’neighbours might ‘ear thi!” (Yorkshire accent needed)

I am over the moon to be kicking off the publication day blog tour for this one. But before I share my thoughts, here’s the blurb…

Bookouture (14 Feb. 2020)

It’s normal for your washing machine to get more action than you, right?

I wake up, bleary-eyed. It’s been two years, six months and three hours since I last shaved my legs, and the llama-patterned knickers I’m wearing have seen better days.

We have seven minutes before the kids wake up, and my husband shuffles closer. ‘Ouch,’ he says, a piece of Lego sticking into his back.

Then, a light comes on in the landing. Small footsteps creep down the stairs. A little voice screams, ‘IS SOMEONE COMING TO MAKE BREAKFAST?!’

All hope of having some ‘alone time’ is replaced with wondering if we’ve run out of Cheerios, thinking about the overflowing laundry, and remembering that I forgot to take out the recycling. Again.

Just a typical Monday morning for the Morton family…

Except today, when I go downstairs in my dressing gown, I find something. Something belonging to my husband. Something that definitely wasn’t in the wedding vows. And it’s either going to make us… or break us.

An utterly hilarious and unmissable novel for anyone who has ever felt like they spend more time washing the dishes than getting lucky. Fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Unmumsy Mum, and rom-coms by Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella, will ugly laugh at this gloriously funny and relatable read.

My thoughts…

Well, what can I say about this one?

I was crying laughing all the way through it. Literally. From start to finish this book is hilarious. And why? Because it’s true.

A real insight into the workings of a woman’s mind when she finds herself happily married, happily mothering, and happily not giving a toss about shaving her legs for six months at a time.

Bailey totally nails what goes on for a lot of women. You get comfortable, your partner gets comfortable, and before you know it, the washing machine gets more action than you do and you’re jealous of your kid’s social life.

I adored every word of this book. Truly. It is a complete change of genre for me but it will not be last time reading this author’s work.

Every scene she sets, every scenario she creates, every character she has developed is just perfect. I cannot find one thing negative to say about this book. Nothing. At all.

It really is everything you want from a book. It will give you ALL the feels. ALL the emotions. ALL the laughs.

I was completely blown away by how I was absorbed into each page. Nothing going on around me was a distraction.

I am Meg. I am the wife and mother with a job and a dog and who hasn’t bought new underwear for about ten years. I related so so much to HASMSL that it could have been my life story. Well… apart from the newfound hobby of my husband… there are no Captains in this house! Want in on that joke? GO GET YOUR COPY NOW!!!!

Not only did I get a laugh a minute, I also took something a lot deeper from this book. Another angle on my marriage. Had we gotten stale? Was it my fault? Am I now too different from when we first met that my hubby no longer wants me? Should we be having raucous sex in the car on country roads? Should we be dressing up a la Fifty Shades? Do I need to buy a razor?!

These are all questions I ask myself daily, then forget to figure out the answer because there’s reading and homework to be done, a bake sale to prep for, a washing machine that needs emptying, a dog that needs walking… a list of a million other things to do before I even think about the forest on my shins. But dya know what, Bailey captured it perfectly from the husband’s POV too. They are just as concerned… and just as tired… and just as scared about car sex nowadays as you are!

I cannot sing the praises of this book highly enough. It should be compulsory to read it when you hit the seven year point in your marriage.

You really do need to go and get a copy. Seriously. It is BRILLIANT!

Massive thanks to the author and the team at Bookouture for my review copy, I bloody LOVED it!

Follow the rest of the tour:

About the author…

Mother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love and family.

You can find out more about her at her website: http://www.kristenbaileywrites.com.
You can also find her on Twitter (@mrsbaileywrites), Instagram (@kristenbaileywrites) and Facebook

2 thoughts on “Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life is the most hilarious book I EVER read! Ever!!! Kristen Bailey, You nailed it! Happy publication day! @mrsbaileywrites @bookouture

  1. Hi Emma, On the strength of this post, I’ve just purchased this for my kindle, looking forward to reading it once I finish my current two reads. Take care Paul

    On Fri, 14 Feb 2020, 10:44 Emma The Little Bookworm, wrote:

    > Creating Perfection posted: “I started reading Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life > in bed one night. Within about ten seconds I was laughing my head off. My > husband was suitably disgruntled… not because I’d woken him up, but > because, in his words, ‘Tha shunt be laughing like tha’ in’t bedr” >

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.