#BlogTour · Blog Tour · EmmaTheLittleBookworm · HEad of Zeus

#BlogTour The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas @KateMascarenhas @HoZ_Books #Mystery #Murder #TimeTravel #SciFi

It’s my stop on the blog tour for The Psychology of Time Travel today and the author, Kate Mascarenhas, joins me to talk about how the book came to life.

Over to you, Kate!

Unique books in The Psychology of Time Travel

“Every time traveller has an acausal book – a volume with no writer, which is passed from future selves to past selves, and is superstitiously said to reflect something of its owner. The contents are always in the owner’s native tongue and are always bound in a single, unique, unduplicated copy.”

Books play an important part in The Psychology of Time Travel.  They contain clues to murders; clues to who you should marry; clues to who you are. Part of their specialness is that they are tailored to the person who possesses them. This is something that resonates with me, because bookbinding is part of my writing process.

When I am close to completing a story—when all the major decisions have been made—I typeset it, print it, and hand bind a single copy for myself. The selection of the materials usually takes some time. For The Psychology of Time Travel, I decided to design my own fabric for the cover. I used a repeated pattern – because time travel stories are structured, to some extent, by repetition – of hour glass shapes and dandelion clocks. Including Patrick the rabbit, the world’s first time traveller, was also irresistible. At the stage I bound this book, the manuscript was yet to go out on submission. Crafting it carefully was a way of looking after it; of showing it some love and attention before the story was exposed to scrutiny.

Once the story did find its perfect publishing home, it was edited and improved into the final form. The unique hand bound version is, I suppose, a gift from past me to current me and therefore as close to an “acausal book” as I will ever own.

I think this is a wonderful idea! What a super thing to have to look back on in years to come.

Huge thanks for joining me today, Kate.

Make sure you keep up with the rest of the tour for more guest posts and reviews from some amazing bloggers!

POTT Banner

Want to know more about The Psychology of Time Travel? Here’s the blurb …

The Psychology of Time Travel by [Mascarenhas, Kate]

A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven.

1967.

Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril…

2017.

Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past. Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future – a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady…

2018.

When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulphur. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder?

You can get your copy now:

About the author … 

Kate Mascarenhas

Kate Mascarenhas is a writer.

Born in 1980, she is of mixed heritage (white Irish father, brown British mother) and has family in Ireland and the Republic of Seychelles.

She studied English at Oxford and Applied Psychology at Derby. Her PhD, in literary studies and psychology, was completed at Worcester.

Since 2017 Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Previously she has been an advertising copywriter, bookbinder, and doll’s house maker. She lives in the English midlands with her partner.

Her new novel, The Psychology of Time Travel, will be published by Head of Zeus in August 2018.

Advertisements

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.