Blog Tour · Book Review · Crime Thriller · Legend Press

#BlogTour #TheVisitors by Catherine Burns @C_Burnzi @Legend_Press #Thriller #PsychologicalThriller #Crime

In my second post of the day, I’m sharing my thoughts on The Visitors by Catherine Burns

Here’s the blurb …

The Visitors: A Dark and Chilling Suspense by [Burns, Catherine]

Legend Press (3 Oct. 2017)

‘Once you start Catherine Burns’s dark, disturbing, and enthralling debut novel, it’s hard to stop. The Visitors is bizarrely unsettling, yet compulsively readable.’ Iain Reid, Internationally Bestselling Author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things

Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware.

Marion Zetland lives with her domineering older brother, John in a decaying Georgian townhouse on the edge of a northern seaside resort. A timid spinster in her fifties who still sleeps with teddy bears, Marion does her best to shut out the shocking secret that John keeps in the cellar.

Until, suddenly, John has a heart attack and Marion is forced to go down to the cellar herself and face the gruesome truth that her brother has kept hidden.

As questions are asked and secrets unravel, maybe John isn’t the only one with a dark side.

My thoughts …

Told in a now and then format narrated by the main female character, The Visitors tells the story of fifty-something spinster, Marion Zetland.

Marion is down-trodden, overweight, and has lived in the shadow of her older brother, John, all her life. She does everything for John, including not asking what goes on his cellar.

As the story progresses, we discover all about Marion’s childhood and the strange relationship she had with her mother, which ultimately to an even stranger relationship with her brother. Burns is a great writer and manages to create and build a tension in almost every sentence, what a skill!

Not a particularly fast paced novel, but still gripping, The Visitors is full of atmosphere and an underlying feeling of impending doom … and for good reason.

Marion has always turned a blind eye to what her brother does, but there are hints throughout which give the reader a general idea. She’s a complex character, very childlike in her ways but her internal thoughts are something to behold. As the story progresses, we see Marion go through a transformation, she starts to see her own potential and things start to change.

She starts to change.

Then John is taken seriously ill and Marion must face her darkest fear.

The cellar.

As the secrets of John’s life start to unravel, things take a sinister turn and nothing is as it seems.

I enjoyed The Visitors. A great addition to the domestic noir genre that will give you goosebumps!

My thanks to the team at Legend Press for inviting me on to the blog tour!

Make sure you keep up with the rest of it:

You can grab your copy over at Amazon now!

About the author …

Catherine Burns

Born in Manchester, Catherine Burns is a graduate of Trinity College Cambridge. She worked as a bond trader in London before studying at the Moscow Institute of Film, and teaching film theory at Salford University. The Visitors is her debut novel.

Follow Catherine on Twitter @C_Burnzi

Advertisements

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.