review · thriller

#BookReview Nameless by David McCaffrey @daveymac1975 #thriller #crime

I devoured this book and you need to get involved folks! Nameless by David McCaffrey is bloody (literally) brilliant!

Here’s the blurb …

Nameless (The Hellbound Anthology) by [McCaffrey, David]

Britain’s Next Bestseller (17 May 2017)

‘There is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men
long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter.’
Ernest Hemingway

One serial killer terrified the world. Imagine what an army of them could do…

A cult member is arrested at the scene of a brutal murder. She will only speak to former crime reporter, Joe O’Connell.

Joe’s obsession with Obadiah Stark aka The Tally Man cost him everything.

He is about to learn that Stark’s message did not end with his death.

They believe in what The Tally Man stood for.

They believe in what The Tally Man did.

But he was one, and they are many.

Once they have you, they will never let you go …

My thoughts …

First of all, the marketing for this book was awesome … in the post I received a missing poster and a copy of the psychological report on the Branch Obadians … This, to me, really added to my overall enjoyment of the book. I totally devoured the report and  it helped me to understand the workings and mechanics of religious cults. Genius idea Mr Mc!!!

Now the book …

Thrown straight in the deep end, we meet Joe O’Connell, ex-reporter and currently in a rather sticky situation … Tied up with a sociopath about to start torturing him …

Wow! What a hook! There was no way I was putting this down until I found exactly what had happened to get Joe in to this situation … flash back two weeks and McCaffrey starts to show us exactly what has happened, and my god, what a ride it is!

O’Connell is the reporter who, in the past, was involved in an investigation into serial killer and all round nasty piece of work, Obadiah Stark. Stark is now dead but his legacy lives on in the cult, Branch Obadians. When one of their members is found at the scene of a brutal murder, she will only speak to say she wants to talk to O’Connell. Her reasons a mystery to everyone.

As the investigation in to the dead body continues, the pace of the book takes a startling gear change and we are thrust on to a thrilling ride that is relentless and gritty, exciting and tough … it is none stop and to be honest, I didn’t want it to stop!

McCaffrey is a fantastic writer, I have seen some amazing reviews of his work and I was so looking forward to getting stuck into this one. I read it over the course of a weekend, now that is only because I was away camping with my family and I didn’t have the time or opportunity to read other than on the four hour car journey down south and the return trip – during which we had toilet stops (four kids on a four hour journey … need I say more!?) and games to entertain them – now I desperately wanted to finish this in one and I would have done that no problem had I not been away that weekend. Had I been at home, I’d have locked myself in my office and not come out until it was done. It’s that bloody good and although I was sat in a car with four kids, I was so absorbed in the story that I could have been sat in my favourite chair, curled up, with no around me at all.

Nameless isn’t the first in the series but that did not make one bit of difference, McCaffrey tells us exactly what we need to know about the previous outings of these characters without spoiling the pace of this one, or, I imagine, covering too much ‘old ground’ for those who have read the other books. Not an easy skill but one which McCaffrey pulls off effortlessly.

I was totally absorbed by Nameless, the characters, the plot, the twists, the turns, the pace, the descriptives all leading to many WOW moments.

Nameless needs to be on TBR pile folks, great writing, great plot, great author … Thank you so much for my copy, David, I loved it!!!!

Now get yourselves over to Amazon and get your copy:

About the author …

Image result for david mccaffrey

David lives in Redcar in the North East of England and works as an Infection Prevention and Control nurse in a local Acute trust. He has a Kelly, a Jake and a Liam. A huge fan of Steve Alten, John Grisham and Lee Childs, David loves reading as much as he enjoys writing. Hellbound was his first novel, all thanks to Britain’s Next Bestseller and the aforementioned Steve Alten who took a chance on him as a writing coach client and taught him so much about what it takes to be a writer. Hellbound was voted by W H Smith readers as one of 2014’s most underrated crime novels. His second book, the novella prequel to Hellbound titled ‘In Extremis’ is currently available on Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com on both Kindle and paperback and was a Semi finalist in the Kindle Book Awards 2016. ‘In Extremis’, ‘Hellbound’ and ‘Nameless’ are all available as audio books on Audible, Amazon and ITunes;

17 thoughts on “#BookReview Nameless by David McCaffrey @daveymac1975 #thriller #crime

  1. The cover looks amazing! I am actually entranced by it…is that a hand? Props for amazing promo as well, I think people underestimate the power of promotion of a good book. I am usually not into thrillers, but this one looks interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

