#BlogTour

#BlogBlitz The Accident S.D. Monaghan @SeanMonaghan16 @Bookouture

Today I share my thoughts on S.D. Monaghan’s The Accident, as part of the blog blitz, but first, here’s the blurb …

Bookouture (1 Sept. 2017)

One mistake could change your life forever.

Tara has it all. Married and about to move into her dream home, she can’t explain why she is tempted by one last fling with her ex before she settles down.

David would do anything for Tara. So when he finds her with another man, his world starts to crumble around him.

Ryan isn’t prepared for the punch David throws at him. Stumbling, he slips over the balcony and falls three storeys to the patio below.

In one split second a man will be killed. In one split second David and Tara’s life will change forever.

How far would you go to save everything you have?

A twist-filled thriller for fans of The Couple Next Door, T.M. Logan and Rachel Abbott.

My thoughts …

When David sees his wife, Tara, kissing another man, his world falls apart.

She doesn’t know he knows and what follows is a terrible tale full of lies and deception.

I absolutely cannot talk about the plot without risking spoilers, but I will say this, the present day will keep you gripped!

I felt all the characters in The Accident were well developed, Monaghan has a very descriptive way of writing and with chapters that flick between past and present, he was able to really show us how the characters grew and met and developed in to the people they are in the present. I personally would rather have had more of the present day story as some of the past chapters didn’t feel like they added much to the present. Monaghan really does know how to show and not just tell the reader what is going on, I could practically see myself on the sidelines, seeing the story unfold in front of me.

As I mentioned, the chapters are split between past and present with David and Tara having their points of view in separate chapters too, this worked really well for me, it gave us both the main characters views and showed us what was going on with each of them at the same point in the book. The present chapters are fast paced and as we get past the past chapters, the speed really picks up and the story starts to pull together.

All in all, The Accident is great book and I’d like to thank the author and Bookouture for my review copy and place on the tour.

If you’d like to order your copy, pop over to Amazon using the link below:

About the author …

S.D. Monaghan grew up in Dublin before travelling extensively in Asia, Europe and America. After teaching English in Thailand for two years, he moved back to Ireland and gained an honours degree in psychology. While living in Canada for four years, he studied screenwriting in Toronto. S. D. Monaghan completed the Masters in Creative Writing at Trinity College, Dublin with the editorial guidance of the Pulitzer Prize winner Richard Ford and Orange Prize nominee, Deirdre Madden. On the strength of his work there, he was chosen to represent both the university and the Oscar Wilde Writers’Centre to read excerpts at the Dublin Publishers Festival and on Dublin Culture Night.  He lives in Dublin with his wife, where he is currently working on his new novel. He is represented by Zoe Ross at United Agents.

Be sure to keep up with the rest of the weekend! 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.