#AuthorTakeOver · #CharacterSpotlight

#CharacterGuestPost Grandma #TheSister #SleepStealer #JensenWeek @Fab_Fiction @LittleBookCafe @LittleBrownUK @Bookouture

JENSEN WEEK DAY TWO 

Louise Jensen shot to fame last year following the release of her debut novel The Sister.

Selling just short of half a million copies within six weeks, Jensen’s psychological thriller was the book on everyone’s lips and kindles!

And now, just over a year later, Little, Brown imprint, Sphere have purchased the rights to the paperback and it hit the bookshops and supermarkets from yesterday! This is obviously VERY exciting for both Louise and the publisher. The Sister is available in Asda, Sainsbury’s, and WH Smith now and in Tesco from 7 September!

To celebrate this wonderful news, I will be posting an exclusive character spotlight or guest post every day for the next week, each one will focus on a different character from Jensen’s books, The Sister, The Gift, and her next novel, The Surrogate, which is out on 27 September.

Yesterday, Louise joined me to talk about Charlie Fisher, one of the lead characters in The Sister and you can read that here.

Today I am joined by Grandma from The Sister, over to you Grandma …

It breaks my heart to see Grace try to put a brave face on for me and her granddad. We brought her up you see. Her mum couldn’t not after… anyway I don’t want to drag all that up. I wish I could put a smile on her face but I don’t know if she’ll ever smile again now. Oh, get me, being all dramatic but I love her, I really do. ‘You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone,’ mum used to say but I do know what I’ve got and nearly losing her … Excuse me while I blow my nose.  I think it’s a cold. Oh, who am I kidding. I’m as tough as old boots, my Tony says but there are some things you can’t put a brave face on, can you?

Grace is like a daughter to us both. She’s had such a rough time, and I’m not just talking about the events that led her to live with us. ‘What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,’ my mum used to say but I don’t know. All that stuff that happened when she was at school. Horrible. At least she had Charlie then to support her. I couldn’t have asked for a nicer friend for my Gracie, even if her mum was … Well let’s just say Lexie is a ‘acquired taste’ I think you’d call her. But Charlie, she had a heart of gold. It was tragic her dying so young.

Grace is bereft. She can’t let go of Charlie’s last words ‘I’ve done something terrible, Grace. Please forgive me.’ It’s hard to believe Charlie could have done anything awful but Grace can’t let it rest, determined to unravel the mystery. She always did read too many Nancy Drew books growing up, that girl.

Me and Tony were understandably worried when Anna appeared out of no-where, claiming to be Charlie’s half-sister.  Well you would question someone’s motives wouldn’t you? If she was still here I know Mum would say ‘where there’s a will there’s a relative’, but Grace told me not to be so judgemental. She’s too trusting that one.

I soon knew something wasn’t right though. Grace and Dan stopped coming round for their tea and when they did visit there was a tension between them that wasn’t there before Anna arrived. It can’t be good for them, you know what they say – three’s a crowd.

Anyway, I’m still shaking after what happened yesterday. To think we could have lost Grace too. It doesn’t bear thinking about. It’s one thing after another. When’s it going to end?

I’d better stop gassing and go and fetch my washing in now. A storm is brewing, the clouds dark and angry. It’s like a warning almost. Something very, very bad is going to happen. Rationally, I don’t think there’s much worse than yesterday but deep down, in my gut, I know the worst is yet to come and this time I’m not just afraid for Grace.

I’m afraid for us all.

Well if that has whet your appetite and you’d like to find out about the storm that’s brewing, get yourself to your local supermarket for the paperback or Amazon for your Kindle copy, here’s the blurb …

“I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me …”

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie …or was there?

3 thoughts on “#CharacterGuestPost Grandma #TheSister #SleepStealer #JensenWeek @Fab_Fiction @LittleBookCafe @LittleBrownUK @Bookouture

  1. Reblogged this on fabricating fiction and commented:
    As part of ‘Jensen Week’ on Emma’s fabulous blog today it’s a post from Grace’s Grandma from The Sister. She’s afraid for Grace. She should be afraid for them all…

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

