#CharacterSpotlight · #SleepStealer

#CharacterSpotlight Charlie Fisher #TheSister #SleepStealer #JensenWeek @Fab_Fiction @LittleBookCafe @LittleBrownUK @Bookouture

Louise Jensen shot to fame last year following the release of her debut novel The Sister.

Selling just short of half a million copies within six weeks, Jensen’s psychological thriller was the book on everyone’s lips and kindles!

And now, just over a year later, Little, Brown imprint, Sphere have purchased the rights to the paperback and it will be hitting the bookshops and supermarkets from today! This is obviously VERY exciting for both Louise and the publisher. The Sister will be available in Asda, Sainsbury’s, and WH Smith from today and in Tesco from 7 September!

To celebrate this wonderful news, I will be posting an exclusive character spotlight every day for the next week, each one will focus on a different character from Jensen’s books, The Sister, The Gift, and her next novel, The Surrogate, which is out on 27 September.

First up, we have Charlie Fisher, one of the leading characters in Jensen’s debut novel, The Sister

I started writing after an accident left me with a disability. After journaling I started to write a non-fiction book which I wanted to self-publish and I went along to a local writers’ group who were discussing self publishing that evening. On arrival, I was given three words and ten minutes and asked to write something. A character Grace, immediately came to mind. She was revisiting an area where her and her childhood best friend had buried a memory box. We find out in the opening Charlie has died and Grace is digging the box up hoping to find a clue to help her understand Charlie’s last words, ‘I did something terrible, please forgive me.’

Immediately I was fascinated with Charlie. Why had she died so young? What did her last words mean? I knew she’d put an envelope in the memory box without Grace’s knowledge but I wasn’t sure what was in it. For about a week I couldn’t think of the answers to any of my questions so I knew I had to write until I found out. The book was very much created to find out what happened to Charlie.

I adore Charlie. We get to know her very well as the book alternates between past and present chapters. She’s funny, loyal, and fearless.

The only thing I didn’t like about Charlie was the way she left without talking to Grace properly about what had happened. I completely understand her reasons for doing so but I think it was really sad.

Charlie is one of those rare characters everybody loved. I didn’t have to change her at all. Often, as readers reach the end of Chapter One they get in touch and tell me how eager they are to find out what happened to Charlie.

Charlie is a mixture of the friend I’d like to have and the person I’d want to be. She’s the perfect blend of compassion and courage.

Since writing The Sister I’ve written two more books (The Gift & The Surrogate) but even now it is Charlie I think of often. In the book she disappears and I often wonder what adventures she got up to during that period. I’d love to write about her again one day.

I’d absolutely be friends with Charlie. In my mind we already are!

Oh, I would be over the moon if Charlie’s adventures were written about in the future!! The Sister is one of my favourite books ever and will stay with me forever, I would be beyond excited to see Charlie back on the pages.

Thank you so much for this Louise, it’s great of you to join me and I am so happy for your paperback deal! Lucky publishers!!!

For those of you who may not have read The Sister yet, here’s the blurb …

“I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me …”

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie …or was there?

I would strongly recommend you grab this book folks!!!! It’s bloody brilliant!!!!!!!

7 thoughts on “#CharacterSpotlight Charlie Fisher #TheSister #SleepStealer #JensenWeek @Fab_Fiction @LittleBookCafe @LittleBrownUK @Bookouture

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

