#BlogTour

#BlogTour #Review It Was Only Ever You by Kate Kerrigan @katekerrigan @HoZ_Books

It Was Only Ever You is a wonderful love story set against the backdrop of the 1950’s New York music scene and boy what a story it is that Kate Kerrigan weaves.

Here’s the blurb … 

It Was Only Ever You: A glamorous historical romance by [Kerrigan, Kate]

Head of Zeus (6 Oct. 2016)

This is the story of three women and one charismatic man. A glamorous historical romance, perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

It is 1950s New York, the time of dance halls, swing bands and the beginning of rock and roll. In The Emerald, Ava Brogan dances the night away, knowing that she will never be pretty like the other Irish girls there, wishing her mother wouldn’t keep plotting to find her a husband.

Here, too, Sheila Klein, Holocaust orphan, dreams of finding a star and making her name in the music industry. Tough and cynical, she has never let her heart be broken by any man.

Enter Patrick Murphy, with a sublime voice, a hit song in his back pocket and charisma to burn. Ava and Sheila‘s worlds are about to be turned upside down. They do not know that Patrick‘s first great love from Ireland is on her way to New York – determined to find and get her man at all costs. Beautiful Rose is used to getting what she wants in life and that’s not about to change any time soon.

My thoughts …

I love a good historical fiction and although this is only set seventy years ago, I was totally transported back to the 50’s music scene. New York is a much a character in this book as are the cast. Kerrigan’s descriptives are wonderful and really bring the era to life on the pages.

When Patrick leaves Ireland and his sweetheart, doctors daughter, Rose, to travel to New York and make his way in the music scene, he doesn’t realise the full extent of the mark he will make. Meeting Ava, she is shy and introverted off the dance floor but once the music takes over her, she is a completely different person.

Sheila is on the run from mob and somehow manages to bag herself the job of being Patricks manager.

As the two ladies become entwined in Patrick’s life, little do they realise that his sweetheart, Rose, is on her way to New York to claim her man back. As the three ladies meet, sparks fly and Patrick must decide who and what is most important to him.

I really enjoyed Kerrigan’s style of writing, although there are a few too many characters for my liking, in my opinion, every character needs to add something to the plot and I did feel that there were one or two who could have been cut without it affecting the storyline.

That aside, I did enjoy this one, the story is told in different points of view, with some chapters even being repeated but through the eyes of a different character which I found quite unique.

All in all a good story of love and passion, definitely one for a rainy afternoon snuggled up in front of the fire with a hot chocolate! Lavish and glamourous, It Was Only Ever You is a heart-warming tale that will have you swooning.

My thanks to the author and publisher for inviting me on to the blog tour to provide my honest review.

You can get your copy over at Amazon by clicking the link below!

About the author … 

Kate Kerrigan

Kate Kerrigan is an author living and working in Ireland. Her novels include the Recipes for a Perfect Marriage which was shortlisted for Romantic Novel of the Year and has been translated into 20 languages, and New York Times bestseller, the Ellis Island trilogy.

Kate began her career as an editor and journalist, editing many of Britain’s most successful young women’s magazines including more! and Just Seventeen magazine under her birth name Morag Prunty, before returning to her native Ireland in the 1990’s. She writes a weekly column in the Irish Mail about her life in Killala, County Mayo – and contributes regularly to the RTE radio program Sunday Miscellany.

Her latest novel, The Dress, is published by Head of Zeus. It is available as an e-book from May 2015 and will be published in hardback in the U.K. in September 2015.

About The Dress: ‘Kate Kerrigan’s distinct and unique style of storytelling is in linking the ghosts of our pasts with modern dilemmas, interweaving yesterday with today in a mesmerising and moving way. Just beautiful.’
Cecelia Ahern

Recipes for a Perfect Marriage:
Recipes for a Perfect Marriage is that most prized of things, a unique treatment of an old subject. Not only an extremely entertaining read, this wonderful novel is also chock fill of wisdom about all aspects of love and marriage
Cassandra King

This is a wonderfully written and instantly engaging novel. But what’s most impressive here is the wisdom about relationships. Recipes for a Perfect marriage should be required reading not only for those who are married or contemplating tying the knot, but for any person who longs to make any relationship work better.
Elizabeth Berg

City of Hope:
I devoured this book in one sitting. I loved it!
Marian Keyes

http://www.katekerrigan.ie

Advertisements

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s