#ChillWithABookAwardWinner · #ETLBW

#ChillWithABookAward winner Vicky Adin talks all things #bookish with #ETLBW @VickyAdin ‏ @ChillWithABook

I am delighted to welcome author Vicky Adin to Bookworm HQ to chat about her recent Chill With a Book Award and all things bookish.

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award Vicky! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

Thank you, Emma, yes, I am thrilled and honoured to have received this award. I live in one of the coastal suburbs of Auckland, New Zealand with my husband, and love to walk to our beach and local shops. Our two children and four grandchildren live within fifteen minutes drive of us, and not a week goes past that we don’t see them, unless T’other Half and me are travelling. We travel a lot: either in our caravan or cruising. We love cruising.

So, your book has been awarded with a Chill with a Book Readers’ Award, what inspired you to write this story?

My interest is social history, and I am a genealogist. A few years ago, I researched my husband’s Irish roots and the more I dug into the history of his great-grandmother, the more inspired I became by it. Although Ireland had passed the worst of the famine years after the potato blight, her life was still one of poverty. It took a great deal of courage and determination to leave and travel the oceans, first to Australia, and then to New Zealand. I based the story of Brigid, The Girl from County Clare on her journey, but I also took lots of liberties and introduced a skill I’m not aware she possessed and introduced characters she would not have known. But that’s why it’s called historical fiction.

What does the award mean to you?

I’m thrilled my story has been deemed worthy of such an award, and it excites me to know I can write stories readers enjoy. It gives me confidence to keep writing.

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

I have five novels written under The PastFinders logo available now 

My current novel, Gwenna is also inspired by a true story. Set amid the hustle and bustle of Karangahape Road in Auckland at the turn of the 20th Century, it is the story of a plucky young sweet maker who refuses to give up on her dreams. Gwenna’s Pa is dead; her stepbrother is in charge & the business is failing. Winner of a gold Quality Mark from BooksGoSocial. Due for release 24 July and on pre-order for 99cUSD until that date. 

The first book I wrote was a timeslip, ‘factualised’ account of the paternal pioneer of my husband’s family. Set between 1863 and 1926, ‘The Disenchanted Soldier’ is the story of hardship and family life in a rough and raw new country, and of a man who went from decorated soldier to pacifist. ‘The Art of Secrets’ is set in contemporary times with two female protagonists. Emma is an emotionally damaged young journalist who is sent to interview Charlotte, an elderly reclusive and recalcitrant author who doesn’t want to talk about her past. Together they dig deep into the past and uncover secrets that change both their lives.  

Megan is a grieving widow and unexpectedly receives a parcel containing her great-grandmother’s journal in The Cornish Knot. She travels to Cornwall, France and Italy, discovering the world of art as she follows in the footsteps of the mysterious Isabel to uncover her past.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I’m still not sure. I have more than one idea mashing around in the brain. Most probably it will be a sequel to both The Girl from County Clare and Gwenna combined set amongst the theatrical and vaudeville life of the town. The story is going to focus on the younger generation who are making their own mark in their new country in the Edwardian era.

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

Travelling: my husband and I love to caravan within New Zealand and cruise the oceans of the world.

Reading: I’m never without a book in my hand (or on my kindle).

Family: where would I be without family? Love them to bits, and spend a lot of time with my children and grandchildren. And I have a particular soft spot for those before us, who have left the most amazing stories for me to tell.

Gardening: I love my roses and I used them as a background theme in The Art of Secrets.

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

Only three – um. As a teen I loved the timeslip stories of Barbara Erskine and fell in love with historical fiction. Can I add Philippa Gregory here too?

Deborah Challinor – I enjoyed reading her books and the fact they were all set in New Zealand. I met her once early on in my writing career and was inspired. I’ve followed her ever since.

Linda Gillard – a Scottish writer who changed from traditional publishing to indie publishing because she didn’t want to be controlled by her publisher and be forced to write books to fit with a genre. I read a transcript of a presentation she made at a conference. It resonated with me and I knew each of my books were different and were all cross genre. They are harder to market, but better to write. I’ve read all Linda’s books since and can see why she likes the freedom to write the style of story she wants to without having ‘tags’. 

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

Because I’m a genealogist, because I fell in love with historical fiction as a teen, because I love the Victorian/Edwardian eras and because those are the characters who speak to me. I’m an old-fashioned girl at heart.

Which other genre would you chose if you had to change?

Possibly women’s fiction if I really had to choose.

Quick fire questions …

Twitter or Facebook?

Facebook

Tea or coffee?

Both

Marmite – yes or no?

Vegemite

Early riser or sleep in?

Sleep in

Pj’s or ‘normal’ clothes when writing?

Normal clothes

Planner or pantster?

Pantster

Book or kindle?

Books, but I couldn’t travel without my kindle.

Pineapple on pizza – yes or no?

Yuck. No.

And finally … What is your favourite book of all time?

Gone with the Wind

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

Thank you. I’ve enjoyed the opportunity.

You can keep up to date with all Vicky’s news by following her at the following places:

Website          www.vickyadin.co.nz

Amazon          https://www.amazon.com/Vicky-Adin/e/B006JTB0VE

Goodreads     https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6543974.Vicky_Adin

Facebook        https://www.facebook.com/VickyAdinAuthor/

Linked In         https://www.linkedin.com/in/vicky-adin-82b74513/

Pinterest        https://nz.pinterest.com/nzvicky/

Instagram       https://www.instagram.com/vickyadinauthor/?hl=en

Twitter            https://twitter.com/VickyAdin

If you’re an indie author and would like to submit your book for consideration for the award, follow the link to the Chill With A Book website.

Here’s the blurb for Vicky’s award winning book …

The Girl from County Clare (The PastFinders) by [Adin, Vicky]

Like making lace – she pieced together a new life from a single thread of hope

Brigid loves her home and family, but she is torn. If she stays, she is another mouth to feed in a land plagued by starvation and poverty. If she leaves, she will never see any of them again. Heartbroken, Brigid boards the ship that will take her to a new life in Australia comforted only by the thought her cousin Jamie will make the journey with her.

Her skill as a lace-maker soon draws attention, but life doesn’t always run smoothly in the harsh new landscape. Brigid must learn to conquer her fears and overcome the stigma of being a servant, a female and Irish if she is to fulfil her dream.

A new start in New Zealand offers hope – until the day the man who seeks her downfall finds her.

You can get your copy by following the link below:

About the author …

Vicky Adin is a New Zealand author living on the North Shore of Auckland within walking distance of the beach, the coffee shops and inspiration. Three words sum up her passion in life: family, history and language. After decades of genealogical research and a life-long love affair with words (she actually enjoyed writing essays at school) she combined these skills to write poignant novels. By smoothly weaving family and history together, based on real people, with real experiences, she makes the past come alive.

One thought on “#ChillWithABookAward winner Vicky Adin talks all things #bookish with #ETLBW @VickyAdin ‏ @ChillWithABook

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

