#BlogTour · HQ Digital UK

#BlogTour #Review Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin @Quaintrellem @NeverlandBT @HQDigitalUK

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Em Muslin’s, Before You Were Mine and I am delighted to be sharing my review of the book with you.

But first, here’s the blurb … 

Displaying IMG_7730.JPG

HQ Digital (26 May 2017)

Sometimes hope has a way of changing everything…

Just hours after giving birth, Eli Bell is forced to give up her newborn baby daughter for adoption. Devastated, she tries desperately to rebuild her shattered life.

Then, over thirty years later, Eli catches sight of her daughter. And she knows that she must do everything to find a way back into her life. Even if it means lying…

While her husband Tommy must grow to accept his own part in the events of her early life, he can only try to save her before her obsession with the young woman ruins them both.

Don’t miss the breathtaking debut Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin! Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Alice Peterson and Lucy Dillon.

My thoughts …

What a sensational debut that was a pleasure to read.

I can honestly say that it is a very long time since I have been so emotionally involved in a book.

As a mother this book really got to me, it tugged at my heart from the very start. I was intrigued to know why Eli was the way the is and as Muslin slowly unfolds Eli’s life story you cannot help but start to see the reasons for her obsessive ways, she is desperate to find the daughter she was forced to give up. With a family who practically abandoned her as a teenager and a husband who ‘took her on’ despite her tarnished early teenage years, Eli is almost a woman too keen to please him.

With an urge to provide the most loving and caring but mainly clean home for her husband, it is clear that she needs something to focus on, something to distract her from the pain she is constantly in since loosing her daughter.

This book is so compelling and so powerful, the human emotions on the pages will reach in to you, you feel them to your very core.

An outstanding debut and I cannot recommend it enough! Also, get a box of tissues handy!!!!

My thanks to the author and Jenny Marston for inviting me on the tour.

Make sure you keep up with the rest of it:

Displaying Schedule Graphic.png

You can get your copy of Before You Were Mine over at Amazon UK

About the author …

Displaying IMG_1388[1673].JPG

Em Muslin has worked in the film and television industry for over 20 years. She first fell in love with reading and writing after experiencing Judith Kerr’s When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit. She hasn’t stopped devouring books ever since. 

She loves words that capture an experience or emotion in a singular form: her current favourite, describing herself, is nemophilist

Em’s writing career has included developing a script for a stage musical with Tina Turner, and writing a bitter-sweet comedy screenplay, Last Chance Saloon

Em’s writing focuses on the texture of domestic life, relationships, family and the pressures of social convention. Her characters are often fighting to become the hero of their own story, searching for hope, despite the adversities that life inevitably brings.

www.emmuslin.com

Twitter: @quaintrellem

Amazon Link: Rxe.me/1D4J3M

Also available on Kobo/Barnes & Noble/iBooks/GooglePlay books

 

Advertisements

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s