#BlogTour · Guest Post

#BlogTour The Shield by C J Bentley @CJBentleyAuthor @Gilbster1000 @Authoright

I am delighted to be kicking off the blog tour for The Shield by C J Bentley today and the lady herself is joining me with a super guest post.

But first, here’s the blurb … 

Displaying The Shield Cover.jpg

Clink Street Publishing (18 July 2017)

People lose their belongings. That is a fact of life. It can happen by accident, but sometimes it can happen when you put them in a very safe place and forget where that safe place is. Not many people are good at finding them again.

A young, gutsy girl with a kind heart, who’s searching for her own identity growing up in the 1960s, just happens to be very good at finding things. Can she be the one to help return whatever is lost – anywhere and at any time – to its original owner?

With the help of a beautiful yet mysterious wise woman and a chivalrous knight she does just that. She finds and returns his shield, lost in battle, which unbeknown to her holds a secret that is important to his King, the safety of the Kingdom and the life of the daughter of his best friend.
The Shield is the first story in The Finder Series, taking our heroine on extraordinary journeys back in time. Her first adventure takes place in Medieval England in 1340 where she meets King Edward III, his wife Philippa and their son, who will later become the Black Prince.

Over to you now C.J …

“Lucy Locket lost her pocket, Kitty Fisher found it……”

So the age old nursery rhyme goes and people lose things, a fact of life.  Sometimes they lose things by accident, sometimes by putting them in a very safe place and then forgetting where it is they put them.  I am reliably informed that the latter gets worse as we grow older.

Maybe that is true as only this morning, finally moving belongings from the farmhouse into the barn conversion we have been working on over the last ten years I found a black jumper I hadn’t seen for more than a year.  I was elated as it was one of my favourites and I thought it had been lost forever in the house move from country to country which happened last year.  I remember looking for it during my packing and being unhappy when it didn’t turn up.  I am now reunited with my favourite sweater and this morning, in France, the temperature is fifteen degrees, twenty degrees lower than last week, I am now wearing my found sweater feeling happy and warm.

This is how people feel when a much loved item is rediscovered.  I know we shouldn’t really feel this way about possessions but we do.  I can fully understand why rewards are offered to people for information leading to the return of lost items.  When certain, much loved items such as family pets are lost, people can become inconsolable until their beloved Kitty, or Scamp has been found and returned.  When a child is lost the feeling of desperation is all consuming.  Our middle son was once lost in a large department store in our home town, he was aged approximately three years and I remember running around in a mad panic searching and searching only to finally discover him hiding amongst the full length granny nighties.  My relief at finding him was extremely emotional and it was a very long time before I took him shopping with me in that particular shop again.

I once found a ten pound note when I was very young.  In those days ten pounds was a lot of money so my Dad took me down to the Police Station in our home town to declare it found.  I remember giving all the particulars to the desk Sergeant on duty, who made copious notes in his book.  All of this took place with my Dad nodding encouragement to me as I recalled exactly when and where I found it.  I left the Police Station feeling quite proud of myself for remembering all the small details which he said would help to find the person who had lost it.  Unfortunately for that person it didn’t, after the two or three months the policeman said was the statutory time lapse for the money to be reclaimed we received a telephone call from the police.  I was to return to the police station to be given the money I had found months ago.  I remember feeling elated as my Dad had told me if I did get to keep the money he would add a small amount to it to buy a new bicycle.  It was my pride and joy for some years.

People find things to earn their living.  Policemen and Private Detectives are employed to find out information about people and things gone missing and are experts at putting the pieces of the problems together and solving mysteries.  Doctors and Scientists find and discover about illness and research that helps the population with cures for illnesses.  Archaeologists are finders too, they research and then discover items from the past to help us learn about our ancestors and the lives they lived which in turn helps us to learn from their way of life and from any mistakes made by them and to hopefully helps us not to remake them in the future.

I don’t think we can find things on purpose in our ordinary lives without a lot of research like the afore-mentioned jobs.  If I lose something I try to sit down in a quiet place and think about when and where I last had it.  Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t and we just have to accept that, but how lucky do we feel if we find a four leaved clover leaf in a field which is supposed to give us a year of good luck.  How lucky do we feel if we find something that meant a lot to us and has been missing for a long time, like my black jumper, I have been smiling constantly all day and feeling as warm as toast.  How lucky do we feel when we find a new friend whose company we enjoy and later our life partner to love and grow with and how lucky and thankful did I feel when I found our grinning small child playing peek a boo amongst acres of women’s clothing in Marks and Spencers.

You can get your copy of The Shield over at Amazon UK it’s available to pre-order now, ready for delivery tomorrow!

Thank you for joining me today and thank you to Rachel at authorite for inviting me on to the tour.

You can keep up with the rest of the tour:

Displaying CJBentley_Banner.jpg

About the author …

Originally heralding from the North of England, C.J Bentley has travelled extensively and enjoyed living in a variety of countries across the world from Dubai to Doha, Qatar and now the countryside in the South of France. A background in teaching and childcare she has always enjoyed creating adventure short stories. However, it was when she became a grandma and with her grandchildren growing up  that she discovered that books seemed to contain only stories of vampires, zombies and farts that she decided seriously to take matters into her own hands and put pen to paper which today she calls The Finder Series.

Website – https://www.cjbentleyonline.co.uk/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/CJBentleyAuthor/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/CJBentleyAuthor

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

