#BlogTour · #SleepStealer · Ordena Books

#BlogTour The Other Twin by L V Hay @LucyVHayAuthor @OrendaBooks @AnneCater #SleepStealer

I am so frigging excited to be kicking off the blog tour for Lucy V Hay’s debut novel, The Other Twin with Sam over at Clues and Reviews so make sure you go and check her post out too! 

Before I get to my review, here’s the blurb …

ORENDA BOOKS (18 May 2017)

When India falls to her death from a bridge over a railway, her sister Poppy returns home to Brighton for the first time in years. Unconvinced by official explanations, Poppy begins her own investigation into India’s death. But the deeper she digs, the closer she comes to uncovering deeply buried secrets. Could Matthew Temple, the boyfriend she abandoned, be involved?

And what of his powerful and wealthy parents, and his twin sister, Ana?

Enter the mysterious and ethereal Jenny: the girl Poppy discovers after hacking into India’s laptop. What is exactly is she hiding, and what did India find out about her? Taking the reader on a breathless ride through the winding lanes of Brighton, into its vibrant party scene and inside the homes of its well- heeled families, The Other Twin is a startling and up-to-the-minute thriller about the social-media world, where resentments and accusations are played out online, where identities are made and remade, and where there is no such thing as truth …

My thoughts …

This book, these characters, and this story will stay with me forever.

I am gobsmacked.

Totally. Utterly. Gobsmacked.

As an editor, I tend not get as absorbed in to books as much as I used to do. Typos and silly errors have always found their way to my eyes and I have been unable to stop my bookmarking a page or rolling my eyes at the mistake, even before I became an editor. Sometimes it’s a hindrance to my reading, sometimes it stops me reading a book, but dya know what, I honestly, hand on heart could not tell you if there are any editorial mistakes in this novel. I couldn’t care less if there are thousands either because it just wouldn’t matter one jot.

The Other Twin is something else. It is phenomenal. It is pure and unadulterated perfection on paper.

I could not stop reading it. From it hitting my kindle at around 10.30 p.m. last night, to finishing it this morning at 10.15 a.m., I have ben enraptured. Beholden to Hay’s words, her characters and her absofuckinglutely belter of a debut.

It is fast, it is furious, it is a relentless, a heart-stopping crime thriller at its frigging best.

Never have I read a book where I had NO idea what was going to happen. I couldn’t guess where the plot was going, but I didn’t want to either, I wanted to enjoy the ride, I wanted to be taken along the path that Hay intended for me, not to be sat wondering ‘what if this’ and ‘oh I bet’s that’, and because I had no choice in the matter, I could let go, let myself be absorbed so deeply into the words that I fell asleep with my kindle in my hands and nearly punched my hubby when he tried to remove it from them at 6.00 a.m. this morning! 

Hay packs a bloody punch.

Every single chapter ends with you needing to know more, there isn’t a paragraph or word that isn’t needed, that isn’t meaningful, that doesn’t add to the story. There isn’t a character too many, a character too few. There is nothing that is out of place. Nothing that is left unsolved. Nothing that underwhelms or over faces.

It’s just pure perfection.

It is everything it needs to be but so much more. So so so sooooooooo much more.

It is how to write a debut novel. It is how to write your twentieth novel.

It is how to write ANY novel.

The Other Twin is one of the most amazing books you will ever read, the characters will stay with me forever. They are perfectly written, completely engaging and the whole book is just a work of such perfection, its hard to believe it’s Hay’s first novel.

I needed a ciggie when I finally finished! It is a complete SLEEP STEALER!!!

You will not be able to so ANYTHING once you have started so make sure you don’t have any plans/responsibilities when you start it!

GO AND BUY THIS BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!!!

You can get your e-book over at Amazon UK

About the author …

Displaying Lucy Hay author photo.jpg

Lucy V. Hay is a novelist, script editor and blogger who helps writers via her Bang2write consultancy. She is the associate producer of Brit Thrillers Deviation (2012) and Assassin (2015), both starring Danny Dyer. Lucy is also head reader for the London Screenwriters’ Festival and has written two non-fiction books, Writing & Selling Thriller Screenplays, plus its follow-up Drama Screenplays. She lives in Devon with her husband, three children, six cats and five African Land Snails.

 

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

