#ETLBW · review · Simon & Schuster UK

#Review The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin @SophiaTobin1 ‏@simonschuster @simonschusterUK‏ @jessbarratt88

I am delighted to share with you today my review of The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin.

Here’s the blurb … 

The Vanishing by [Tobin, Sophia]

Simon & Schuster UK (12 Jan. 2017)

All that I was I gave to you. All that I am you took from me. All that you have I will destroy

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester.

When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape …

My thoughts …

As soon as I saw the press release for this I was so intrigued … Images of the rolling Yorkshire Moors, my home, sprawling out around the grounds of country house, White Windows, had me desperate to read this and I was not disappointed … Tobin is a fantastic writer.

The book starts with building up the characters, primarily the main character, Annaleigh, an orphan who manages to secure herself a job as the new housekeeper.

When she arrives at the house, she soon realises all is in not as it seems – the Twentymans have a strange brother/sister relationship, the staff warn not too close to anyone and the previous housekeeper, Kate, just disappeared. What has she let herself in for?

As the pace picks up during the second half of the book, Tobin’s writing really starts to shine, reminiscent of a Bronte classic, the gothic noir really hits the pages and the intensity starts to build as twists and secrets start to come to the light.

It is a hard book to review in terms of discussing the plot, far too easy to fall in to the spoiler trap, so I wont.

What I will say is that this is one of the most atmospheric and compelling books I have read for a very long time. Graphic and chilling, Tobin pulls you in to the pages so that you are unable to put the book down and it is fantastic!!

If you like sweeping landscapes, dark secrets, twisted plot lines, and characters that you cannot help but love to hate, then The Vanishing is absolutely one you want to buy!

Many thanks to the team at Simon and Schuster for my review copy, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!

You can get your copy over at Amazon UK 

About the author …

Sophia Tobin

All that I was I gave to you. All that I am you took from me. All that you have I will destroy…

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester.

When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape …

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

