EmmaTheLittleBookworm · Ordena Books · Psychological Thriller · thriller

#BlogTour Exquisite by Sarah Stovell @Sarahlovescrime‏ @OrendaBooks @AnneCater

I am beyond excited that it is my turn on the blog tour for Sarah Stovell’s novel, Exquisite.

Here’s the blurb …

Exquisite by [Stovell, Sarah]

ORENDA BOOKS (15 May 2017)

Bo Luxton has it all – a loving family, a beautiful home in the Lake District, and a clutch of bestselling books to her name. Enter Alice Dark, an aspiring writer who is drifting through life, with a series of dead-end jobs and a freeloading boyfriend. When they meet at a writers’ retreat, the chemistry is instant, and a sinister relationship develops … Or does it? Breathlessly pacey, taut and terrifying, Exquisite is a startlingly original and unbalancing psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

My thoughts …

Those who follow me on facebook may have noticed that I’ve been quite poorly these last few days (I’m writing this on Sunday 11 June) as such, the hubby took the kids out for me this afternoon and I came back to bed at about 4 o’clock, having managed four hours editing at my desk. I had every intention of sleeping but thought I’d better make a start reading this one.

Five hours later and I’ve just finished it.

Oh. My. Flipping. God!!!!

What a frigging book!!!!

I’m still a little dazed (and not just from the Lemsip!!)

This is genius, pure genius, Stovell has really made herself shine in a genre that is saturated with the same old style plots.

When Alice Dark gets a scholarship to join a writers retreat, she is over the moon. In a bit of a rut in her life she is desperate to realise her dreams of becoming a writer, and who better to teach her than Bo Luxton? The world famous, international bestselling author.

As soon  as they meet the chemistry jumps off the ages. Dark is in awe of Luxton and Luxton is jealous of Darks’ youth and vitality. As the week goes on though, they form an unlikely friendship. One which shows all the promise of lasting a lifetime. But whose lifetime?

Exquisite is an intense and utterly enthralling tale of the intimacies of female friendship, that all consuming type where you immediately feel the need to be with each other constantly, to tell each other everything, to bare your very soul to the new person in your life, no matter the risks.

Stovell is a fanbloodytastic writer, with two wonderfully unreliable narrators, I genuinely had no idea what to expect from this one.

I loved everything about this book, it has depth, characters that you love and hate and a plot that will leave you breathless, all that set against one of the most beautifully descriptive backdrops, you are in for an absolute treat – this is a complete MUST READ!!!!

It certainly says a LOT that it kept me reading when I was ill!!!

My thanks to Stovell and the team at Orenda Books for my review copy and for having me as part of the tour!

You can get your copy over at Amazon UK

About the author …

Sarah Stovell was born in 1977 and spent most of her life in the Home Counties before a season working in a remote North Yorkshire youth hostel made her realise she was a northerner at heart. She now lives in Northumberland with her partner and two children and is a lecturer in Creative Writing at Lincoln University. Her debut psychological thriller, Exquisite, is set in the Lake District.

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour Exquisite by Sarah Stovell @Sarahlovescrime‏ @OrendaBooks @AnneCater

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

