#ChillWithABookAwardWinner

#ChillWithABookAwardWinner author Ros Rendle talks all things bookish @Ros_Rendle @ChillWithABook

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award, Ros! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

I’m Ros Rendle. I worked as a Head teacher so I used to write policy documents, essays and stories to which young children enjoyed listening. Now I’ve taken up the much greater challenge of writing fiction for adults. I write both historical sagas and contemporary romance; perfect for lying by a warm summer pool or curling up with on a cosy sofa. My books are thoroughly and accurately researched. I lived in France for eleven years so my writing often, though not always, has a French theme or background.

I am a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and the Historical Novelists’ Society.

So, your book has been awarded with a Chill with a Book Readers’ Award, what inspired you to write this story?

Living among the battle field sites of WW1 meant we could research my grandfather’s experiences and walk in his footsteps 100 years after the battle of the Somme. Flowers of Flanders is not really his story but that was the inspiration. The cover image shows my grandmother.

What does the award mean to you?

A writer’s life is lonely and we all suffer pangs of self-doubt from time to time so it’s very reassuring to have an external, objective endorsement for this book.

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

I have a novella sequel entitled Delphi’s Dilemma. It rounds off Flowers of Flanders with what happened to the sister who told the malicious lie that caused so much trouble in the first book. I do write contemporary women’s fiction too and have two titles published by Endeavour Press, one of which was an Amazon best seller for a while. They are Sense and French Ability and Peace of Time.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I’ve nearly finished a third in the Strong Sisters series. It’s about Delphi’s daughter and is set in Vichy France in the 1940s. I’ve also started another which will cover the Cold War and the third sister from the original book. That will be a duel time-line story between that conflict and the 1970s.

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

We ballroom and Latin dance regularly. When we returned from France we started lessons and often can be found practising – up the lane when we walk the dogs. We only got caught out once which was amusing and not a little embarrassing. I also read a lot because I’m sure that’s one way to improve my writing.

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

My mother was a published author many times over in the 1960s and 1970s. She always urged me to have a go but I didn’t seem to have the time. Katie Fforde is the current President of the Romantic Novelists’ Association. Her career and writing has been inspirational. A third might be Currer Bell, Charlotte Bronte of course. She had to struggle in a male dominated world but succeeded. I do think perseverance pays off eventually.

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

The research in an historical novel is fascinating although much harder than for a contemporary setting. Information about Vichy France, for example, has been very hard to find since little has been written about that place and era. It’s sensitive for many French who are reluctant to speak of it.  However, it all must be accurate. I’m certain of that.

Which other genre would you choose if you had to change?

I’d love to write a whodunit but I’d need to change my planning habits and be much more thorough before I started to write.

Quick fire questions …

Twitter or Facebook?

Both for advertising/ marketing of writing. Facebook for family or personal stuff.

Tea or coffee?

Definitely tea.

Marmite – yes or no?

Ooo big fat yes.

Early riser or sleep in?

Early riser although not so early these days.

Pj’s or ‘normal’ clothes when writing?

I’d prefer Pj’s but almost never do. It’s a guilty pleasure.

Planner or pantster?

Pantster, hence the need to change my habits for a whodunit.

Book or kindle?

Kindle. So much easier when out and about.

Pineapple on pizza – yes or no?

Yes, I have a very sweet tooth and can’t be purist where that’s concerned.

And finally, … What is your favourite book of all time?

Hard to answer but probably James Hilton’s Random Harvest. He’s better known for Goodbye Mr Chips and Lost Horizon but this book had such a great twist at the end and was a wonderful epic love story.

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

Many, many thanks for this opportunity.

Please add links to your sites and social media so that we can find you.

Website – www.rosrendleauthor.co.uk

Twitter: – http://Twitter.com/ros_rendle

Facebook – www.facebook.com/RosalindRendleAuthor

You can get your copy of Flowers of Flanders over at Amazon UK … Here’s the blurb …

Flowers of Flanders: Book 1 'The Strong Sisters' trilogy by [Rendle, Ros]

Rose rivals her beautiful, mercurial sister for Michael’s love but calculated lies and misunderstandings alter the young peoples’ course. War breaks and Michael is as eager as the others to go.
Maybe Rose will settle for second best with Thom even though she cannot get Michael out of her soul.
Does a man need the grace of serenity to rediscover his own or is it frivolity and seduction he craves when he has been through the darkest places of war? Michael’s experiences in the trenches gradually alter his perceptions.

This is a story about deceit and loyalties, complex relationships and loves developing from youth to adulthood during a cataclysmic time in history.

 

 Click the link if you’d like to find out more about the Chill With A Book Awards

 

4 thoughts on “#ChillWithABookAwardWinner author Ros Rendle talks all things bookish @Ros_Rendle @ChillWithABook

  1. Very interesting that you write in two quite different genres (historical saga and contemporary romance). How do you juggle two different genres and how do you deal with catering to two different fan bases (and are there overlaps in fans who read your historical fiction and those who read your contemporary romances)?

    Tam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your observations. So far I’ve not had two books on the go at once but I may need to consider doing that very soon. Some of my readers read both genre. I, myself, have a very wide taste in reading so I suppose others do too. The historical stake much longer to write because the research is generally greater. If you read any I hope you enjoy.

      Like

  2. Great interview, Ros! I love reading whodunnits, but I agree the amount of planning involved wouldn’t suit me at all. I can only admire those who do it. I’m sure you have the skill! Well done for winning this award, it’s well deserved. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comments. The sequel to Flowers of Flanders and Delphi’s Dilemma has a thriller element so I might be getting there at some point 😄

      Like

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

