#ChillWithABookAwardWinner

#ChillWithABookAward Winner Author Fiona Cooke Hogan talks all things bookish @cookehogan @chillwithabook

Continuing my celebration of indie authors, I am delighted to welcome Fiona Cooke Hogan to the blog today to discuss her recent Chill With A Book Award and chat about other bookish things!

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

Hi Emma, I’m Fiona Cooke Hogan and I am a writer, blogger and poet from Ireland. Mum to five almost all grown up children and lover of reading in many genres.

So, your book has been awarded with a Chill with a Book Readers’ Award, what inspired you to write this story?

The Lights Went Out and Other Stories is a collection of short stories of mixed genre. A lot of the stories were written year ago, many in the months preceding its publication. Most are fiction and a few are autobiographical but I like to think they all have an Irish flavour to them.

What does the award mean to you?

It’s a huge honour and joy. It’s great to be chosen by those I write for – the readers themselves, that makes me so happy because it’s a true reflection of how my writing is perceived.

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

I have a novella called What Happened in Dingle on Amazon for Kindle – it’s a romantic comedy set in beautiful windswept Kerry, Ireland about an anniversary weekend that just goes from bad to worse.

I also have a small collection of gothic horror called Death Comes Calling under the name FB Hogan that is also out on Amazon for Kindle.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I am working on a psychological horror set in Victorian Britain  at the moment and have a new novel coming out in the Autumn called – Martha’s Cottage.

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

Reading and watching box sets – I’m currently viewing the latest American Horror Story and catching up on Breaking Bad.

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

I grew up on the Bronte sisters ( I know, cheating ) and Jane Austen. I love a good romance, especially a twisted tortured love story. I love the setting and the historical details in these amazing stories.

J RR Tolkien has hugely influenced me as a writer. I share his love for nature and just fell in love with his detailed world of Middle Earth.

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

Well, I’m greedy, I write in a lot of genres – romance, horror, the supernatural, fairy tales and comedy.

Which other genre would you chose if you had to change?

I haven’t written any sci-fi as such and that is a genre I could really get into. I love reading it.

Quick fire questions …

Twitter or Facebook?  Facebook

Tea or coffee? Coffee

Marmite – yes or no? No!

Marvel or DC? DC

Early riser or sleep in? Sleep in

Pj’s or ‘normal’ clothes when writing? Normal

Planner or pantster? Planner

Book or kindle? Book

And finally, … What is your favourite book of all time?

The Lord of The Rings by JRR Tolkien. No question, a masterpiece of world-building, language creation and old lore, rich with wonderfully believable historical detail. This book awoke the writer in me and has continued to stay in my heart ever since I first read it at age 11.

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

Thanks Emma, it’s been a pleasure.

An eclectic mix of flash fiction, short and longer stories. At times humorous, eerie and poignant; a mother burdened by financial troubles shares her problem with a stranger, a young couples’ journey to the  airport takes a strange turn, a wedding anniversary in Dingle goes from bad to worse, a small dog is forced to change his ways and a vampire hiding out in suburbia just wants to be left alone. Dip your toes into this quirky collection and find your favourite.

 You can keep up to date with all Fiona’s news by following the links below.

My Books:

http://amzn.to/2pdYFGE

http://amzn.to/2pOHxLu

http://amzn.to/2pP8FYR

You can find me on my blog –

http://www.unusualfiction.wordpress.com

and these places –

http://www.twitter.com/cookehogan

http://www.facebook.com/theHazelHedge

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

