#ChillWithABookAwardWinner · Anna Franklin Osborne

#ChillWithABookAwardWinner Anna Franklin Osborne #WalkingWounded @HomeOsborne

I am over the chuffing moon to welcome one of my favourite people in the whole wide world to the blog today, Anna Franklin Osborne. She is one of the nicest, most loveliest and kindest ladies I have in the publishing industry! And not only all that, she is most amazing writer!!

I’ll tell you more about her book later, lets meet her soon …

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

I’m Anna Osborne, nee Franklin, I have two jobs, two kids, two dogs, and just the one, long-suffering husband!

So, your book has been awarded with a Chill with a Book Readers Award, what inspired you to write this story?

I started writing three years ago, and rattled off three short stories close to my heart in a short space of time. I felt I did not have a story for anything longer, but one day, our ferry back from Caen was delayed, meaning we had time to go for a walk on the beach – a D-Day beach, with our kids. We started telling them about D-Day, and then I filled in the personal aspect I had three great uncles storming that very beach, while their sister, my gran, had spent months stitching parachutes for the invasion. Neil looked at me and said, “well there’s your story.”

What does the award mean to you?

Er – the world!!!! On the rocky road to publication, the lovely Felicity Fair Thompson (author of The Kid on Slapton beach) said to me do you or do you not want this book to be read? Some people might find this strange, but when I started writing, I was doing it for myself, my hobby, if you will -but then it suddenly became tremendously important for me to get it out there and get it read. This award means not only are people reading it, but they are loving it and valuing it – it means more than I can possibly say.

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

A case study of osteomyelitis in a post-surgical neck pain patient. It’s my day job.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I am working on another historical fiction novel – more slowly than last time as my life has altered lately with kids school pick ups etc. I’m not too worried about the pace, to be honest, it’s forming in my head and the physical writing will happen eventually! Luckily my day job will still be there to pay the bills!

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

In my dreams, sailing, hiking, kayaking and skiing. Or lying on a beach, reading. Some weekends are better than others. Truthfully – trying to get the washing on the line before legging it to work whilst shouting instructions to hubby and kids!

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

Enid Blyton (yep, I was George in a previous life), then jointly, my brothers and my sister (if they could do it, so MUST I)!!

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

I love history and am fascinated by the social consequences of war. I live in the past, preferably with Nelson and a ship!

Which other genre would you chose if you had to change?

I can’t do crime or psychological thrillers – I’m not that clever, and would only end up scaring myself!!  I honestly don’t know -possibly magical fantasy although I feel that a certain JK Rowlings might be way ahead of me there.

Quick fire questions:

Twitter or Facebook? FB – I really don’t get Twitter!!

Tea or coffee? What’s tea?

Marmite – yes or no? God, yes!!!

Marvel or DC? What are these????!!! (Did I actually say I liked this lady 🙂  – these are superheroes!!!!)

Early riser or sleep in? I’m a night owl. Sleeeeeep!!

Pj’s or ‘normal’ clothes when writing? Clothes. I’m usually found writing in the back of my camper after walking the dogs so PJs could be a bit of a problem

Planner or pantster? Pantster

Book or kindle? Book!!!!! I hate it that you don’t really get to appreciate the cover on a kindle book and now I know how hard it is to get a good cover, that hurts and also I often forget the title and the author – I need to see that cover every time!!! Kindle has its place though on holidays

Pineapple on pizza – yes or no? Oh yes.

And finally … What is your favourite book of all time?

The Officers Wives, by Alexander Fleming. I’ve read it scores of times and will do so again. It’s my 2nd copy – I lent my first to Sue, at school, and she never gave it back. You know who you are and I will find you!!!

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

Anna’s book, The Walking Wounded is phenomenal – you really need to read it folks! Here’s the blurb …

Born at the end of the First World War, a young girl struggles to find her own identity in her big family and is pushed into a stormy marriage through a terrible misunderstanding from which her pride refuses to let her back down. As her own personal world begins to crumble, the foundation of the world around her is shaken as Germany once again declares war and her brothers and young husband sign up with the first wave of volunteers.

Walking Wounded tells the story of those left behind in a Blitz-ravaged London, and of the web of loyalty, guilt and duty that shapes the decisions of the women awaiting the return of their men-folk as the war draws to a close.
Spanning the period from the Armistice of the First World War to the exodus of the Ten Pound Poms to Australia in the 1950s, Walking Wounded is a family saga whose internal violence is mirrored by the world stage upon which it is set.

Please add links to your sites and social media so that we can find you.

www.goosewingpublications.com

Twitter – @HomeOsborne

FB – https://www.facebook.com/GooseWingPublications/?ref=bookmarks

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_4_15?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=walking+wounded+anna+franklin+osborne&sprefix=walking+wounded%2Caps%2C135&crid=33NTNIOD8HX8Y

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

