#ChillWithABookAwardWinner

#ChillWithABookAwardWinner Lynne Shelby Talks about her writing journey @LynneB1 @ChillWithABook

Good morning bookworms!

Continuing my celebration of Chill Award winners, I am delighted to welcome author Lynne Shelby to the blog today …

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

Hi, I’m Lynne Shelby. I’ve done a variety of jobs from stable girl to legal administrator (and when my children were younger, I had a vicarious career as a stage mother!), but since the publication of my novel French Kissing I’ve been a full-time writer. I write contemporary women’s fiction and I’m a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association. I live in London.

So, your book has been awarded with a Chill with a Book Readers Award, what inspired you to write this story?

The inspiration for French Kissing was a conversation I overheard when I was travelling back from Paris to London on the Eurostar with my family. A young Frenchman sitting across the aisle spent the entire journey phoning his English friends, telling them that he, Francois, was coming to London and suggesting they meet up. Unfortunately, none of his friends seemed to want to see him. I felt very sorry for Francois, but he did give me the idea for a plot about a Frenchman – my hero, Alexandre – who comes to England and is very much welcomed by an English girl – my heroine, Anna. Paris, where the second half of the book is set, is one of my favourite cities.

What does the award mean to you?

I’m so delighted and thrilled to have won a Chill with a Book Readers Award because it is awarded by readers who have enjoyed reading what I have written. It’s so wonderful to know that people have liked my story enough to tell other readers about it.

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

I’ve written stories since I was a child, but French Kissing is my debut novel.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I’m currently writing the third novel in a new series of books set in the world of show business. They are standalone stories that can be read in any order, but are linked by the setting and characters – people who work in the theatre or in film – that appear in all of them. The first book in the series A Stage Kiss is due out in January 2018.

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

I love visiting the theatre to see a play or a musical, especially in the West End. I enjoy travelling, and I’ve been lucky enough to visit many different foreign cities over the years, mainly in Europe, although I have visited Seattle and New York – where I saw several Broadway shows.

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

Jane Austen, Ursula Le Guin and Sergeanne Golon – I remember reading and adoring their books as a teenager and knowing that I wanted to try to become an author.

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

I write contemporary women’s fiction because that is the genre I most like reading. There are few things more enjoyable that introducing two characters to each other – a heroine and a hero – and seeing the sparks fly.

Which other genre would you chose if you had to change?

If I had to change genres, I’d choose to write historical novels. I’ve always been interested in history and it was my major subject at university. I’m sure I’d enjoy the research.

Quick fire questions:

Twitter or Facebook? A Both!

Tea or coffee? Tea

Marmite – yes or no? Yes!

Marvel or DC? Marvel

Early riser or sleep in? Early riser

Normal clothes or Pj’s when writing? Normal

Planner or pantster? Pantser

Book or kindle? Book!!!!

Pineapple on pizza – yes or no? No!

And finally, … What is your favourite book of all time?

It has to be Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

You can get your copy of French Kissing over at Amazon UK

Here’s the blurb …

Strolling along the banks of the Seine, Anna Mitchel thinks that Paris is a city where it would be very easy to fall in love. Even if the Frenchman at her side still has feelings for his ex, and regards her only as his English friend.

For the last fifteen years Anna has been writing letters to her French penfriend, Alexandre Tourville, but hasn’t seen him since they met as young teenagers on a school exchange trip. When Paris-based Alex, now a successful photographer, comes to work in London, Anna discovers to her surprise, that the shy, gawky boy she remembers is now an extraordinarily attractive man.

Anna’s female friends are soon swooning over Alex’s Gallic charm, while her steady boyfriend Nick is becoming extremely jealous of their friendship.

Then Alex has to return to Paris to oversee the hanging of his photographs in an exhibition, and invites Anna to accompany him so that he can show his amie Anglaise the city he adores

Facebook Author Page: www.facebook.com/LynneShelbyWriter

(Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009360342397 )

Twitter: @LynneB1

Website: https://www.lynneshelby.com/

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

Click on the link to find out more about the Chill With A Book Award

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

