#ChillWithABookAwardWinner · EmmaTheLittleBookworm

#ChillWithABookAwardWinner G K Holloway @ChillWithABook

I am delighted to welcome historical fiction author, GK Holloway to the blog today …

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

I’m G K Holloway and I’m the author of 1066 What Fates Impose. My book is an historical fiction account of the events that led to the Battle of Hastings. So, it’s full of larger than life characters, family feuds, court intrigues, assassinations, papal plots, loyalties, betrayals, a love triangle and a few battles.

So, your book has been awarded with a Chill with a Book Readers’ Award, what inspired you to write this story?

I’ve always been a history fan so, as a Christmas present, my wife bought me a book about Harold Godwinson, the Last Anglo Saxon King. I found the story fascinating and read more about the era. I discovered the twenty years leading up to the Battle of Hastings to be amongst the most interesting and exciting in English history. I couldn’t for the life of me understand why no one had written a novel about it – so I wrote one.

What does the award mean to you?

In a word, recognition. I’d published a book and had good reviews, in fact, some of them were great but it’s always good to see what a large group of readers thinks. To win the award was to have my feeling that my novel is quite an accomplishment, confirmed.

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

The only other work I’ve had published is a short story in a collection all about alternative versions of 1066. It’s called, 1066 Turned Upside Down and along with eight other writers I produced an alternative account to the events of 1066.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I’m hoping to publish me next book before the end of the year. It is the sequel to my first book and it covers the ten years after the Norman Invasion, where the English put up a fierce resistance to William the Conqueror’s rule.

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

Cycling, exercising in the gym, long walks in the country that end in a pub.

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

F Scott Fitzgerald, Richard Ford and William Boyd

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

Simply because I was fascinated, some might say obsessed, by the subject.

Which other genre would you chose if you had to change?

Literary fiction. I have a novel 85% completed that’s just sitting in a computer. I’d like to finish it because I think people would find it interested and might be surprised I can write in another genre.

Quick fire questions …

Twitter or Facebook?

Facebook

Tea or coffee?

Coffee

Marmite – yes or no?

NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

Early riser or sleep in?

Early riser

Pj’s or ‘normal’ clothes when writing?

Normal

Planner or pantster?

Pantster

Book or kindle?

Book

Pineapple on pizza – yes or no?

Definitely not

And finally, … What is your favourite book of all time?

This is so difficult. If you put a gun to my head – Any Human Heart

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

You can keep up with all G K Holloway’s news by following his website and Facebook pages

http://www.gkholloway.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/G-K-Holloway-219766941394283/

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

