#ChillWithABookAwardWinner · Chill With A Book Award

#ChillWithABookAwardWinner #Author Wayne Turmel Joins me in the Spotlight @WTurmel @ChillwithaBook

Good morning Bookworms!

Today I welcome author Wayne Turmel, who back in March, won his first Chill With a Book Award!

Huge congratulations on winning your Chill Award! You must be so happy that your work has been recognised in this way. Now, before we carry on, would you please introduce yourself to my readers, just in case they don’t know you already …

HI Emma. I’m originally from a small town in Canada, but live and write in the suburbs of Chicago now. By day I have a grownup job as a trainer and consultant where I’ve written eight books, mostly on communication and management skills. In what passes for my spare time I escape into the past, writing historical fiction. Acre’s Bastard is my second, and the first to win a “Chill” award, so hopefully I’m getting better at this. My motto is, “those who forget the past are doomed to repeat it. The rest of us are doomed, too, but at least we get to smile smugly and say ‘told you so’.”

So, your book has been awarded a Chill with a Book Readers’ Award, what inspired you to write this story?  

I was originally inspired by one of my favourite books; Kipling’s Kim. What would it be like if the story were set in another time and place? In this instance the Crusades. Then that iconic picture of the little Syrian boy in the ambulance went out into the world and…… there you go.

What does the award mean to you?

I was a stand-up comic in my early adulthood, and you got instant gratification. You knew when the audience liked your work and when they didn’t. As an author, you don’t sit and watch people read (well, the restraining order says I can’t) so you never really know if your work hits home. To know people you aren’t related to like your work and are willing to tell others is extremely gratifying … Thank you to the readers who voted for my work. And to future readers: leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads. It’s like applause for the author. You might save a life!

What other titles have you published? Tell us a little about them …

I’m the author of multiple books, most of them boring business books, although “Meet Like You Mean It-a Leader’s Guide to Painless and Productive Virtual Meetings,” is an Amazon bestseller and really practical if you have a day job that involves working with others. My first historical novel is “The Count of the Sahara” about the real-life Count Byron de Prorok, an archaeologist in the 1920s who, for about five minutes, was the most famous man in the world and now nobody knows his name.

Are you working on a new book? Tell me about that …

I’m working on the sequel to Acre’s Bastard right now. I’m not done with Lucca quite yet.

When not writing, what can you be found doing?

I am such a stereotypical guy it’s kind of embarrassing. Chicago sports (Blackhawks and Cubs), horse racing and enjoying good tequila and a cigar. And, of course, reading.

Which three authors have most influenced your journey to becoming an author?

I like to think of myself as the bastard child of Alexandre Dumas and Hunter S Thompson. There are too many modern authors I enjoy to choose just one, but I’d like to write like Jack Whyte when I grow up, although I don’t think I’m serious enough.

Why did you choose the genre you write in?

My other motto is, “swords are way cooler than guns.” When I read books or fantasized as a child, it was always in a time or place other than 1970s small-town Canada. I’ve not grown past that.

Which other genre would you chose if you had to change?

I would love to tackle a big sprawling sword-and-sworcery thing, but making up all those names would be exhausting.

Quick fire questions …

Twitter or Facebook?

Facebook

Tea or coffee?

COFFEE, sorry—coffee

Marmite – yes or no?

Good heavens no.

Marvel or DC?

DC, although Marvel is making the best movies. I was DC all the way growing up

Early riser or sleep in?

Up with the birds

Pj’s or ‘normal’ clothes when writing?

I have to wear big-boy clothes when writing

Planner or pantser?

I’m kind of pantser. I plan between major plot points, then pants the heck out of it.

Book or kindle?

Book

Pineapple on pizza – yes or no?

No, but I’m not a fanatic

And finally … What is your favourite book of all time?

The Three Musketeers. I literally have lost count  of how many times I’ve read it. Swords are cooler than guns, remember?

Thank you for joining me today and many congratulations again on your Chill with A Book Award!

Acre's Bastard: Historical Fiction from the Crusades (a Lucca Le Pou Story) by [Turmel, Wayne]

Acre’s Bastard is out now an you can get your copy over at Amazon and Amazon UK

You can keep up to date with all Wayne’s news by using the following links and if you’re an author who would like to know more about the award, pop over to the Chill With A Book Awards website.

Twitter  https://twitter.com/WTurmel

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/wayne.turmel

My website (and if you’re a historical fiction author who wants to be interviewed, drop me a line)

www.WayneTurmel.com

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14980039.Wayne_Turmel

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

