#CharacterSpotlight · #ETLBW

#CharacterSpotlight #ALifeBetweenUs by #author @LouiseWalters12 @matadorbooks

Good morning and a slightly late welcome to author Louise Walters who is going to introduce us to one of her characters … So Louise, who are we meeting today?

I’d like to talk about the protagonist of A Life Between Us, my second novel. Her name is Tina, she is forty-six-years old, happily married, with no children. She works as a domestic cleaner, but her passion is reading.

When did you come up with the idea for her?

I first began to think about Tina (named Nell originally) in 2014, the year my first novel was published. I had three novels “in my head” (one already written) but Nell/Tina wouldn’t let me go, so I decided to make her story my second novel. I think a lot about my characters before I start to write their story.

Did you write the book to accommodate Tina or Tina to accommodate the book?

I start with a character. The plot (what will happen to them, and what they will do) develops gradually as I get to know the characters. I always knew Tina was a “haunted” character … but I wasn’t sure by who or what, to begin with.

What do you like most about her?

She is kind, sweet, a little vulnerable… and a reader, a real book lover.

What do you like least about her?

She is a little self-centred, and too “inside” of herself. There have been times when I wanted to give her an almighty slap!

Did your early readers/editorial team like Tina to start with or did you have to change her in any way?

Nobody seemed to think much to her, initially. I had to make her a little more dynamic. A very good writer friend read the first few chapters and suggested she needed a job, any job, just to give her another dimension. I decided to make her a cleaner, which I think is a psychological “fit” for the kind of person she is.

Does she have any similarities with anyone real?

I don’t base my characters on real people. I can’t “see” or “hear” them if they are real, which sounds odd, but I think other writers will understand. They develop from me, of me, a bit like babies!

What are your plans for Tina?

A Life Between Us is a standalone novel, so I have no further plans for Tina. Wherever she is, or whatever she is doing, I hope she is living happily ever after.

Would you be friends in real life?

Yes, I think we would. We would talk about books. I follow her on Twitter and she seems like my kind of person! Her Twitter name is @TinaTweets12 and she could do with a few more followers 😉

Thank you so much for joining me today Louise!

If you’d like to read Tina’s story, you can get your copy of A Life Between Us over at Amazon UK now, here’s the blurb …

A Life Between Us by [Walters, Louise]

Tina Thornton’s twin sister Meg died in a childhood accident, but for almost forty years Tina has secretly blamed herself for her sister’s death. During a visit to her aging Uncle Edward and his sister Lucia, who both harbour dark secrets of their own, Tina makes a discovery that forces her to finally question her memories of the day her sister died.

Who, if anyone, did kill Meg? As Tina finds the courage to face the past, she unravels the tangled family mysteries of her estranged parents, her beautiful French Aunt Simone, the fading, compassionate Uncle Edward, and above all, the cold, bitter Aunt Lucia, whose spectral presence casts a long shadow over them all.

A Life Between Us is a beautifully evocative story of a family torn apart at the seams, which will appeal to readers who enjoy family sagas and modern-day mysteries.

About Louise …

Displaying Book signing launch.jpeg

Louise Walters lives in Northamptonshire with her husband and five children. She is the author of Mrs Sinclair’s Suitcase, published in 2014, and of A Life Between Us, published in 2017.

One thought on “#CharacterSpotlight #ALifeBetweenUs by #author @LouiseWalters12 @matadorbooks

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

