#bloghounds · #BlogTour · Bloodhound Books · Guest Post

#BlogTour #TheWatcher by Netta Newbound @nettanewbound @BloodHoundBook #BlogHounds #BloodhoundBooks

It’s my stop on the blog tour for Netta Newbound’s latest thriller, The Watcher and I have a fantastic guest post from Netta for you.

Have you ever wondered what an author actually does during the day? Well read on to find out . . .

A Day in my Life  

People often ask me about how an author spends their day. Just what exactly do we get up to while everyone else is slogging away at their workplace? For some reason most have the false impression of glamour—cocktail parties and book signings, chauffeur driven limos and high class hotels.

Well, the truth is, it’s not all about high tea and rubbing shoulders with the rich and famous. There is, however, something wonderful about working from home—not being controlled by the clock and being able to please yourself when you shower or get dressed, or if you get dressed at all! I know, slob, right? So here is an insight into what I actually get up to…

7am – I awake to the sound of Rex the rooster who brings his harem up to the house for breakfast. I bound out of bed, refreshed from my solid 8 hours of sleep. Once I’ve fed the chooks, I fill the kettle and do a hundred press ups while I wait for it to boil.

7.30am – I settle down in front of my laptop and check my emails while sipping my tea, then, itching to get at it, I open my manuscript and begin typing ferociously.

8.30am I fill the kettle again and take my husband a piping hot cuppa. He’s generally quietly reading the newspaper on the deck. He is considerate and knows not to disturb me when I’m writing.

9am – After discussing what we each have planned for the day, we go our separate ways; he to tend the grounds, and me back to my desk where I write uninterrupted until lunchtime. (I may shower and dress at this stage.)

12 noon – I check my social media and allow myself half an hour to respond to any comments, likes/shares, or messages, and then I devour the lunch my devoted husband has prepared for me. We eat on the deck, listening to the cicadas and birdsong.

1pm – Back to my office where I work solidly until I hit my daily minimum of 5000 words.

4pm – I prepare a healthy dinner and my husband and I share a bottle of wine and a chat in the kitchen.

5pm – We eat and take care of the washing up before settling down, side-by-side on the sofa ready for the 6 o’clock news.

10pm – I check my messages for one final time and head off to bed.

Okay – so I may have used a little artistic licence there, but it sounds so much better than the actual truth…

7am – I hear Rex the rooster and I groan, pulling the duvet over my head where I stay for another hour if I’m lucky. I’ve never been a great sleeper and was awake most of the night listening to my hubby’s snores and contemplating murder.

8am – I fill the kettle and check emails and social media while it boils.

9am – Hubby comes in search of his cuppa and reboils the kettle making us both a lovely cup of tea. While listening to him whinge and moan for the next hour, I partake in a little humorous social media banter with a couple of author friends, and watch several funny videos, mainly dogs (don’t ask me why as I’m not mad on dogs—I prefer cats).

10am – I finally get down to actual writing.

10.01am – The phone rings. A friend needs a friendly ear.

10. 30am – Back to writing.

10.32am – The doorbell rings. I scream and go in search of my hubby as I am not dressed and my hair looks as though I’ve been dragged through a hedge. Of course he’s nowhere to be found. I shout through the door to my intruder that I won’t be a minute, then I throw on a dress and run a comb through my hair. I finally open the door and there is nobody there, but I notice a card on the doorstep. The courier had left it and gone. Aaaarrrggghh!

10.45am – I write for an hour uninterrupted if I’m lucky.

11.45am – Hubby needs food. He sees to himself and often makes me something. However, there is no writing getting done as he bangs and clangs in the kitchen so I check social media then go for a shower.

2pm – I write.

2.30 – A friend calls in for afternoon tea.

4pm – Friend suggests a cheeky tipple.

6pm – Hubby comes in search of his dinner and finds two giggling drunks on the deck instead.

7pm – I make dinner, alone while hubby watches the news on catch up and I run in and out of the kitchen trying up keep up with world events.

8pm – Settle down in front of the TV and pretend to watch while catching up with Facebook and emails. I open a friend’s manuscript and begin to critique it for her.

10pm – Argue with my hubby because I keep making him rewind the program we’re watching.

12pm – Fall into bed and read for two hours.

I know what you’re thinking… How the heck does she ever finish writing a book? Well now you realise what a hard slog it is, maybe you’d be so kind as to read one of them… haha x

I have laughed my head all the way through this Netta! I was genuinely in awe of your amazing routine, working from home and for myself too I was so envious of your commitment and I must admit, that is how I dreamed my life would be when I decided on this path. I am so glad that your days are actually very similar to mine, especially the parts about not getting dressed, being distracted by friends and pretending to watch the TV with the hubby!

Netta’s latest novel, The Watcher is out now! Here’s the blurb . . .

coverBloodhound Books (30 Jan. 2017)

Life couldn’t get much better for Hannah. She accepts her dream job in Manchester, and easily makes friends with her new neighbours.

When she becomes romantically involved with her boss, she can’t believe her luck. But things are about to take a grisly turn.

As her colleagues and neighbours are killed off one by one, Hannah’s idyllic life starts to fall apart. But when her mother becomes the next victim, the connection to Hannah is all too real.

Who is watching her every move?

Will the police discover the real killer in time?

Hannah is about to learn that appearances can be deceptive.

The Watcher is a suspenseful serial killer thriller that will appeal to fans of authors like; Rachel Abbot, Kathryn Croft, Jenny Blackhurst & B A Paris

You can get your copy now over at Amazon UK

About the author . . .

neta

Netta Newbound, originally from Manchester, England, now lives in New Zealand with her husband Paul and their boxer dog Alfie. She has three grown-up children and three delicious grandchildren.

As a child, Netta was plagued by a wild imagination, often getting in trouble for making up weird and wonderful stories. Yet she didn’t turn her attention to writing until after her children had grown and left home.

Although she mostly writes psychological thriller novels, all of which consistently rank highly in the best seller categories, she has also written several non-fiction books with a close friend and fellow author under the names of Sandra Rose & Jeanette Simone.

 

5 thoughts on “#BlogTour #TheWatcher by Netta Newbound @nettanewbound @BloodHoundBook #BlogHounds #BloodhoundBooks

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

