#bookhangover

#bookhangover with #blogger Linda Hill @Lindahill50Hill #bookblogger #amreading #bloggerslife

I am over the moon to welcome super star book blogger Linda Hill of Linda’s Book Bag fame, onto the #bookhangover today and what better week to have her join me than the week that her blog turned two?!

happy-2-year-blogiversary

So, for those of you who don’t know her (where the heck have you been?!?!?!?) I’ll hand over to Linda . . .

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Linda Hill and I’m a blogger, cat lover and chocolate eater. I used to be a secondary English teacher a loooong time ago before deciding it was easier to tell people what to do than do it myself and I became an inspector and educational consultant. Nowadays I prefer to be travelling, gardening and, of course, reading!

What gives you an actual hangover?

Wine. I used to love a glass of wine and then when I turned 50 it was like flicking a switch. Now, if I’m not very lucky, I start to feel sick after a few mouthfuls and I have to stop. I can, however, drink sparkling wines and champagne so all is not lost!

What TV programme?

Strictly Come Dancing. I love it. I love the glamour, the romance, the costumes and the routines. I’m less keen on Bruno who has become increasingly infantile as the years have progressed but I just use the mute button when he’s speaking.

What film?

I don’t watch many films but I always try to catch Bridget Jones’s Diary whenever it’s on – not least because I think Colin Firth is so gorgeous in it!

What song?

Anything at all by Bryan Ferry or Roxy Music. I’m a bit obsessed with Bryan Ferry, have seen him in concert 19 times and met him twice – so far! Ironically, the only song he’s every recorded I’m not too keen on is one of the most famous, ‘Jealous Guy’. I really like ‘Mother of Pear’l as I can see influences of Shelley’s ‘Lady of Shalott’ in it. However, the first song I ever bought and listened to as a 45 before I literally wore a hole in it was ‘Puppy Love’ by Donny Osmond!

What food?

Fruit. I can’t live without fruit. Lunch is almost always mostly fruit in some combination of at least four from apple, banana, Satsuma, grapes, pear, plum, nectarine and dessert at dinner is strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, mango etc. I think I must be part chimp!

Which person/people?

Obviously my wonderful husband Steve. We met and fell instantly in love, moved in together 5 days later and got married 10 months after that! We’ve been married for almost 34 years now.

And finally, … Which book?

This is the most difficult question to answer. I love whatever I’ve just read that has touched my soul – and usually made me cry. If I really had to choose it would always be Tess of the D’Urbervilles. I read it in the summer of 1977 after I’d done my O’Levels and ready for A’levels and it was the first time I’d really understood just what makes a classic book. Because of that book I went on to read English at university and developed my love of reading and my whole career as a result. It’s taken me to working across the whole of England as well as the Channel Islands and New York so that one novel has a lot to answer for.

I adore Colin Firth in Bridget Jones’ Diary . . . Mind you, he’s pretty fit all the time!!

And what an amazing love story you have yourself! I adore love at first sight stories, they make me all gooey inside!

Thank you so much for joining me today Linda, it’s been great getting to know you a bit better and I hope you are celebrating the blogiversary with something fizzy at the weekend!!!

I’m thinking about Colin Firth now, I think he might be in my top five #movieboyfriends  – Tom Hardy is obviously at the top spot! Let me know in the comments who yours is x

7 thoughts on “#bookhangover with #blogger Linda Hill @Lindahill50Hill #bookblogger #amreading #bloggerslife

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

