#BlogTour · debut novel · EmmaTheLittleBookworm · Guest Post · Legend Press

#BlogTour #DareToRemember #GuestPost #RoadToPublication with Susanna Beard @SusannaBeard25 @Legend_Press

I am delighted to be on the blog tour today for Dare to Remember, the debut novel by Susanna Beard.

Susanna was kind enough to let me quiz her about her Road to Publication

Thanks so much for joining me today Susanna, I’d really to find out about how you went from being a tennis playing PR guru to author! You obviously had some ideas bubbling away over the years, when did you decide to get this idea out of your head and onto paper?

The idea struck me on my daily walk down by the river Thames and grew from there. I suppose it was a few months of cogitating and ruminating before I finally put finger to keyboard. Then I did a couple of thousand words, which I felt was a good start – and went on a week’s writing course at the Faber Academy with Louise Doughty. She is a fantastic teacher. After that the words just kept on coming.

I love it when the words just don’t stop and your fingers seem to take on a mind of their own. How long did that first manuscript take to perfect then?

Overall about 20 months; I finished the first draft earlier but redrafted many times before settling on the final manuscript.

I imagine that even thought the words flowed, it was harder to do as quickly as you’d like whilst still working a full time job. How did you find the time to get your manuscript in front of publishers?

Through my agent, Phil Patterson at Marjacq. He did a great job!

What were peoples first reactions?

So far, I’ve had a lot of very perceptive, positive reviews. I’m sure there’ll be some who don’t like it – people have different tastes – but I hope everyone appreciates the writing!

Did the anyone want to change anything once they had signed you up?

They changed very little, in fact. Just a couple of paragraphs which needed reworking and some queries over certain sentences and phrases.

Did you agree? Or stick to your guns?

Mostly, I agreed. They also changed my working title – I wasn’t wedded to it anyway and it was a bit of a spoiler, which I hadn’t realised, believe it or not! I think Dare to Remember works really well.

Well at least that was picked up before being published! How long did it take from then to get it out to the public?

This was very fast in publishing terms – just over six months.

Wow! That must have been such an exciting time, did you much input on the cover and various formatting for the font and layout etc?

They suggested three options, which we discussed, together with my agent. We all agreed on the font and the final cover.

My daughter LOVES the cover! My children take it in turns to open my #bookpost and she was so giddy that she got yours! She thinks it’s fantastic and asked me if she could keep it when I die (she’s a little morbid for a nine-year-old!)

Finally . . . If you could do it all again, what would you change?

Absolutely nothing – at the moment!

 It seems like you had a fairly ‘easy’ journey to publication, certainly no horror stories of five-hundred rejection letters and I am really pleased for you. Thank you again for joining me today and sharing this journey with us all, I find it fascinating all the different and varied experiences people have on this path, all showing such strength and determination.

Dare to Remember is Susanna’s debut novel . . .

dare-to-remember-cover

Here’s the blurb . . .

Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley.

However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night?

As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there’s another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can’t escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along.

You can get your copy over at Amazon UK now!

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

