#BlogTour · Bookouture · Brilliant · Carol Wyer · Crime Thriller · EmmaTheLittleBookworm · gripping · Killer · psychological · thriller

#BlogTour #Review #LittleGirlLost Carol Wyer @Carolewyer @bookouture #DarkSide

So this is my second post today dedicated to the amazing Carol E Wyer.

For those of you who don’t know, Carol is an amazing author with a stash of no less than eight books – several of which have won awards – to her name, Carol is a force to be reckoned with when it comes to fantastic comedy and lovely romance, books that make you really think about your life one minute, all deep and serious and then the next, have you reaching for the tena ladies cause you’re gonna pee your pants laughing!

Well our awesome Carol has only flipping joined the majority of the other Bookouture authors by turning to the #darkside – yesterday she released the first in her new crime thriller series, Little Girl Lost and my god, what a turn she has taken!

I am joining the utterly awesome Jen Medlicott in posting our reviews today, and you can read Jen’s review over at Jen Med’s Book Reviews

Now for the book, here’s the blurb . . .

coverHer breath rose and fell in fearful gasps but it was too late. She could already see what she dreaded most. The back seat was empty.

Her little girl was gone.

Abigail lives the perfect life with her doting husband and adorable baby Izzy. But someone knows a secret about Abigail and they want the truth to be told.

When Izzy is snatched from a carpark, it becomes as case for Detective Robyn Carter. Someone has been sending threatening messages to Abigail from an anonymous number. What is Abigail hiding?

Roby’s instincts tell her there’s a connection between Izzy’s abduction and two murders she is investigating. But the last time she acted on impulse her fiancé was killed. To break this case and earn her place back on the force, she must learn to trust herself again – and fast. Robyn is on the hunt for a ruthless serial killer. And unless she gets to the twisted individual in time a little girl will die ….

Gripping, fast paced and nail-bitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

My thoughts . . .

Where the hell do I start with this one?

I’ll begin by being honest I suppose . . . I wasn’t sure what to think when I heard that Carol was moving to the dark side. I mean, have you read any of her other books? Have you spoken to her? I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Carol over the last six months and let me tell you, she is the sunniest person alive! Always smiling, always happy and always making me (and everyone else) laugh out loud!

Now I’m not saying that nice people can’t write crime, there are loads of uber nice people behind some seriously disturbing books, it’s just we’re talking about Carol E Wyer! She’s the last person I’d have thought would have turned to the dark side!

And dya know what? I’m bloody glad she did!

Little Girl Lost is one of the slickest crime thrillers I’ve read for a long time, there is not a hint of it being written by a newbie to the genre, none whatsoever!

I know that Carol was like a debut author when writing this book, and why wouldn’t she be? She was completely out of her comfort zone, but let me tell you lady, it does not show at all in the book! Not in the slightest!

You have done a sterling job!

Little Girl Lost is the first in the DI Robyn Carter series and what a start it is! From the first page to the last, you will be utterly gripped. Now chapter one is hard reading, like really hard reading, now I’m not going into details, nor am I going to lie, it may put people off in terms of the content, HOWEVER, the subject matter doesn’t continue throughout the book, but it sets up the plot perfectly and it actually makes the book even more credible, in fact, it makes Carol more credible as a crime writer, she dared to go there and she did it with style and respect.

Robyn is a brilliant character, she is damaged (who isn’t?!), she’s had a really tough time but she’s getting there, wherever there is for her and she’s doing it with a great team of people around her and a fascinating case to dig her teeth into.

The plot is intelligent, clever and brilliantly executed, there are twists and turns that will keep you guessing the whole way through, from the first page to the last, you will be gripped! Utterly gripped!! Do not start this book if you have any pressing plans cause let me tell you, you will cancel them! You will not want to stop reading, in fact, you won’t be able to stop!

Little Girl Lost is the ultimate sleep-stealer!

I doff my hat to the author, Carol, you have done a stupendous job and I cannot wait to see where else the dark side takes you!

My many thanks to Carol, NetGalley and Bookouture for my review copy 🙂

Now go and buy it!!!! Amazon UK or Amazon US

About the author . . .

 carolCarol E. Wyer is an award-winning author whose humorous books take a light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully. More recently she has chosen to write for the “dark side” and embarked on a series of thrillers, starting with the gripping Little Girl Lost which will be out January 19th 2017.
Her book Grumpy Old Menopause won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.
Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ‘Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’ and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines ‘Woman’s Weekly’ featured in ‘Take A Break’, ‘Choice’, ‘Yours’ and ‘Woman’s Own’ magazines and writes regularly for The Huffington Post.
Carol is a signed author with Bookouture and Delancey Press.

To learn more about Carol, go to http://www.carolewyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. Carol blogs at http://www.facing50withhumour.com and http://www.grumpyoldmenopause.com

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review #LittleGirlLost Carol Wyer @Carolewyer @bookouture #DarkSide

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s