EmmaTheLittleBookworm

#Bookhangover with author Jason Hershey @therealjhershey

Woo hoo . . . It’s Friday which can only mean one thing . . . #Bookhangover day!!

It gives me great pleasure to welcome author Jason Hershey to my blog today, so without further ado . . .

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Jason Hershey. I am a teacher from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio. I am also trying to do this whole author thing and so far, it’s going ok.

What gives you an actual hangover?

I don’t drink, even when I was in college. I am addicted to Diet Pepsi though, so if I was to drink a normal soda, that would absolutely throw me for a loop.

What TV programme?

I am obsessed with “This Is Us”. I love the emotional complexities of the show and just the interactions between the characters. I try to bring a lot of these elements in my books. I want people to relate to the characters and to be emotionally invested in what happens to them and where they head in life.

What film?

I love “Dazed and Confused” for a lot of the same reasons. They are real characters that you see yourself in. You cheer when good things happen and you mourn when something bad happens.

What song?

“Devestated” by Joey Bada$$. It’s a rap song that has heart and makes you think about choices and decisions in your life. I sound like a broken record, but all of these, movie, television and song, all encompass how I write and what I want to accomplish with my story telling. I want people to cry, laugh, cheer and hope along with the characters.

What food?

I’m originally from Phoenix, Arizona, so I have to have really good authentic Mexican food in my life.

Which person/people?

I am drawn to people that use what they have to better society and the world. Three of my absolute idols are Martin Luther King Jr., for obvious reasons, and Roberto Clemente and Pat Tillman. They both were athletic superstars, but choose to use that to help others. Roberto Clemente died delivering goods to earthquake victims in Nicaragua and Pat Tillman left the NFL to enlist in the army and was unfortunately killed in action.

And finally … Which book?

I love The Giver. I love the story telling, the decisions and choices the characters are faced with the conflict within themselves as they debate what they should do. If I can capture 1/10th of emotion that the book captures, then I would be completely satisfied.

Thank you so much Jason! I have heard very good things about This Is Us so will binging on that at some point soon!

As he mentioned, Jason is an author whose debut novel To Die To Live is out now and you can get your copies over at Amazon US and Amazon UK

Here’s the blurb . . .

to-live-to-die-coverThelonious “Theo” Mitchell is a down on his luck teenager, wandering aimlessly through life with no desire or focus. When tragedy strikes, he is taken in by his aunt and uncle. Thrown into a new school with unfamiliar surroundings, he befriends the class “troublemaker”. After yet another tragedy, will Theo fall victim to life, or use the tragedy as a spark and motivation to embrace all that life has to offer?

Thanks again for joining me Jason!

Keep reading lovelies xx

 

2 thoughts on “#Bookhangover with author Jason Hershey @therealjhershey

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

