#bookhangover · Paul Mathews

#Bookhangover with author Paul Mathews @IamTheHuman #WeHaveLostThePelicans

I am delighted to be joined by author Paul Mathews, whose new book, We Have Lost the Pelicans, was released yesterday. So, without further ado, lets find out what gets Paul all hungover!

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Paul Mathews – a 44-year-old British guy who’s given up the 9-to-5 to become a full-time, indie author. And I love being a writer even more than I love Marmite or cheese – and that’s saying something! In my previous life I was a UK Government press officer but now I write comedy-thriller novels. I published my debut e-book, ‘We Have Lost The President’, in July 2016, and that’s been doing well in the US (possibly as millions of Americans wish Donald Trump would just get lost). And I’ve just published my second novel, ‘We Have Lost The Pelicans’. 

What gives you an actual hangover?

Generally, any kind of light beer gives me a major headache the next day – especially Polish beer (my wife is Polish), which is a lot stronger than British beer. I prefer European dark beer. It’s got a Guinness-like taste, but it is thinner and a bit sweeter. Though if I drink too much of that, I still get a hangover! 

What TV programme?

I love reality TV – maybe because, as a fiction writer, I live in an imaginary world all day. My current obsession is ‘Hardcore Pawn’ – an American show set in a huge pawn shop in Detroit. I know a lot of it isn’t actual reality, but I enjoy the drama of the situations and some of the bizarre characters. It gives my brain a rest after a long editing or proofreading session. 

What film?

‘Goodfellas’ is my all-time, favourite movie of all time. The acting and characterisation are brilliant, as is the narration by Ray Liotta. The fact it is based on a true story gives it that added magic. Bladerunner comes a close second for its atmospheric glimpse into a dystopian future. In terms of comedy movies, it has to be the Naked Gun and Airplane movies. 

What song?

That’s a tough one. I once sung ‘Loveshack’ by the B52s at a karaoke evening – both the male and female parts – so I guess I’ll go with that. It reminds me of my student days and is a real feel-good tune. 

What food?

My all-time number one foodstuff has to be cheese. Mature Cheddar or Red Leicester being my top picks. I was a vegetarian for over 20 years. But I could never give up cheese. It would be like giving up breathing! 

What person/people?

Probably an actor – it’s a tie between Tom Hanks and Matthew McConaughey. I’ll watch any film with one those two in it. As well as their acting, I find their voices very relaxing to listen to. I don’t know if I’m the only person who can feel pleasure just from the sound of someone’s voice, but I can! 

Finally, which book?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (and its sequels) has probably shaped my creative style more than any other book. And a lot of reviewers have picked up on this. It’s strange, because it’s 25 years since I actually read all the books. I actually saw the brilliant TV series first, and that has always stuck with me. In tribute to Douglas Adams, I include a reference to the number 42 (the answer to the meaning of life) in all of my books. He was a funny, intelligent, creative writer and a really nice guy, too. Hopefully people will say the same about me, one day!

I absolutely LOVE Goodfellas too, in fact, I think I’ll watch it tonight!

Thank you so much for joining me today Paul, it’s been a real pleasure getting to know you better!

Here’s the all important buying link: Amazon UK

we-have-lost-the-pelicans-by-paul-mathewsLondon, 2044. The St James’ Park pelicans have gone missing – the day before the president unveils the British Republic’s new pelican flag. At the same time, British intelligence uncovers coded messages about possible anti-Government activity. Who are the bird-nappers and what do they want? And who is behind the secret messages? Agent Howie Pond – licence to lunch – reluctantly agrees to try and find out.

Howie’s fiancée Britt has a secret mission of her own – to identify the mysterious owner of Windsor Castle. And to add to the chaos, Howie and Britt are supposed to be getting married tomorrow…

‘We Have Lost The Pelicans’ is the second book in the ‘We Have Lost’ comedy-thriller series and carries on from where ‘We Have Lost The President’ left off. It’s packed with the same great British humour and exciting action, and a double mystery that will keep you guessing. Meet some old friends and a host of new characters when you take another trip to London, 2044.

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

