#bookhangover · Mike Thomas

#bookhangover with author Mike Thomas (@ItDaFiveOh)

Today on my #bookhangover feature I have the wonderful author Mike Thomas. So, without further ado . . .

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Mike Thomas and I used to be a police officer but thankfully I left all that behind to write. Mainly novels. And occasionally articles about ferret rearing or ‘What’s the Fastest Train from Toronto to Montreal’. You’ve gotta pay them bill

What gives you an actual hangover?

Lager. I can’t drink it. I just don’t any more. It leaves me bloated and awake for hours at night, staring at the ceiling and cursing myself, then the next day it feels like someone has taken a cheese grater to my insides. So, as I am a writer, I just stick to the occasional* two bottles of wine per night. (*regular)

What TV programme?

I’d have to say The Wire. A dazzling show: script, dialogue, characters. The best cop show ever made. I never wanted it to end, and still wish I was room-mates with McNulty and Bunk. Cigars! Booze! Swears!

What film?

I love film, and have hundreds of DVDs and Blu-rays lying about the house. Everything from Kurosawa to ‘Borat’. I should choose something highbrow here but I’m going to go with ‘An American Werewolf in London’. It’s tremendous – a perfect blend of horror and comedy, with a deliciously downbeat ending, and the special effects still stand up today.

What song?

Anything by Depeche Mode. Moody, perverted synth gods that they are.

What food?

I will eat anything. Literally. Inside me there is a morbidly obese man fighting to get out. I do love Thai, Japanese, or a good plate of Mexican. And I live in Portugal, where their traditional dishes – look up the artery-clogger that is Francesinha – are lovely. But I’m going to go with Indian. Curry is the food of champions, and the hotter the better.

What person/people?

My wife. I’d be lost without her.

Finally, which book?

I will continue to sing this novel’s praises until everyone in the universe has read it and its author follows me on Twitter: ‘Mailman’ by J. Robert Lennon. The main character is Albert Lippincott, an American postie who pretty much goes postal. But it’s such a beautiful, moving and blackly funny book. And the writing is exquisite.

Thanks, Emma! Great fun, and I hope you enjoy. Good luck with the blog!

Mike x

Thanks so much for joining me today, it’s been a pleasure getting to know you a bit better!

Website: https://mikethomasauthor.co.uk/

Twitter: @ItDaFiveOh

Mike’s new novel: Ash and Bones is available to buy now Amazon UK

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

