#bloghounds · Betsy Reavely · Blog Tour · BloodHound · Brilliant · crime · Crime Thriller · Emotional · Five Stars · gripping · Killer · psychological · review

#Review #BlogTour #BlogHounds #Frailty by @BetsyReavely @Bloodhoundbooks

cover

I remember a few months ago seeing a post on a Facebook group asking people’s opinions of four different book cover options – three had moths on and the fourth was the one above. I gave my opinion that this one was great, really chilling and creepy. I couldn’t wait to read the book!

Then, a few weeks ago I was asked by the publishers, Bloodhound Books, to read and review the book as part of the blog tour and my god am I glad I said yes!

And let me tell you something else before we continue to my thoughts . . . Frailty is getting my first ever blog star rating and guess what Betsy . . .

IT’S ALL THE STARS FROM ME!!!!

five-starsI have given star ratings on Amazon and Good Reads because I have to, here on my blog however, I didn’t really want them, but there is no getting away from the fact that this book is so bloody brilliant, it deserves to have a little bit more recognition.

Now to the book itself . .

The blurb . . .

How far would you go to protect your family?

Danny and Libby are about to face every parent’s worst nightmare.

When eight-year-old Hope Bird disappears without a trace, from the idyllic village where she lives, life for her family will never be the same again. Her parents know she would never have gone off alone and the police have no idea where she is. Then a child’s shoe is discovered and the case takes an unexpected turn. Soon a suspect is identified but this is only the beginning.

Will they ever find Hope?

Frailty is a haunting, gritty, psychological page-turner about the choices we make.

My thoughts . . .

I have no idea where to start with this review.

Do I tell you how much I cried at the words? How much I shouted at the characters? How much I loved the characters? How hard I hugged my children whilst reading?

I think I should start with the writing. I have never read a book like this before. It is utterly amazing. Betsy writes in a way that will get under your skin, grab your heart, twist it, squeeze it and then hand it back to you in tatters. Her ability to capture the most harrowing and horrendous situation imaginable and make you feel like you are living it is just pure genius. This is a masterclass in how to captivate and stun a reader.

I actually finished the book a couple of weeks ago and thinking about it again now as brought tears to my eyes, now isn’t that a sign of a great book? One that still affects you weeks later? One that makes you hold your loved ones that bit harder and for that bit longer. Frailty does that.

Frailty tells us the story of Danny and Libby and their daughter Hope, who has disappeared without a trace. Every parents nightmare come true. We see the effect that this has on them as a family, with the local community and with their extended family. It is a psychological thriller that will take you a journey; have you trying to figure it out; desperately wishing that each new lead will the one that will lead them to Hope.

I really can’t say more without potentially spoiling it other than . . .

I love this book. Absolutely love it. It is brilliant. It is one that I will recommend to people forever.

Thank you Betsy and BloodHound Books for allowing me to read and review an advanced copy to feature on my blog.

Please go and buy it NOW!

About the author . . .

Betsy Freeman Reavley is the author of the novels Beneath the Watery Moon and Carrion and the poetry collection The Worm in the Bottle. Her latest psychological thriller is The Quiet Ones, published by Bloodhound Books.
She was born inbetsy Hammersmith, London. As a child she moved around frequently with her family, spending time in London, Provence, Tuscany, Gloucestershire and Cambridgeshire.
She showed a flair for literature and writing from a young age and had a particular interest in poetry, of which she was a prolific consumer and producer.
In her early twenties she moved to Oxford, where she would eventually meet her husband. During her time in Oxford her interests turned from poetry to novels and she began to develop her own unique style of psychological thriller.
Beneath the Watery Moon is Betsy Reavley’s beautifully written first release and tells the macabre story of a young woman battling against mental illness.
Beneath the Watery Moon is published by Not So Noble Books and Joffe Books. It is available as an eBook from Amazon.
Betsy Reavley’s second novel Carrion is a psychological chiller that address the link between grief and fear. Carrion was published in 2014 by Bloodhound Books.
The Quiet Ones, published in February 2016 and is a kindle top 100 bestseller, carries on Reavley’s tradition of writing psychological thrillers in her own unique way. The Optician’s Wife, was released in June 2016 to critical acclaim.
Frailty is Reavley’s newest release and is available on amazon now.
Reavley says “I think people are at their most fascinating when they are faced with life’s real horrors. This is what I love to write about.”
Betsy Reavley currently lives in Cambridge, with her husband, 2 children, dog and quail. She is working on her fifth novel.
You can follow her on Twitter @BetsyReavley

 

2 thoughts on “#Review #BlogTour #BlogHounds #Frailty by @BetsyReavely @Bloodhoundbooks

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

