Blog Tour · Brilliant · Guest Post · Jenny Marston · JennyInNeverland · Lynsey James · Neverland Blog Tour · NeverlandBT · review

**Guest Post** with Lynsey James author of Silver Bells Christmas Pantomine @lynsey1991 @NeverlandBT

Today on my blog, I am happy to welcome author Lynsey James round with a Guest Post about friendship so, I will now pass you over into her capable hands . . .

                                                                                        The Power of Good Friends 

In The Silver Bells Christmas Pantomime, Alice has some huge obstacles to overcome. She’s lost the man she loves and has essentially shut herself away for the last three years to try and deal with her grief. While the pantomime helps her come out of her shell, building up a network of friends also helps. I’ve made friendship a recurring theme in the Luna Bay novels because having good friends has got me through some really tough times in my life. With that in mind, here are some of the ways friends can be absolutely awesome.

They listen to you

I’m one of those people who sometimes find it hard to talk about how I feel. I prefer to deal with things myself, rather than bothering people with what I think is just trivial stuff. However, sometimes you just can’t beat having a rant with your best friend. My best friend Jen gives the best advice and is always quick to tell me when I’m overthinking things (which is pretty much all the time!). Talking to her about whatever it is I’m worried about usually makes it seem much smaller and easier to deal with.

They bring out the best in you

The best friends are the ones who help you be the best you can be, I think. The ones who support your dreams the same way you support theirs. The ones who, when you’re with them, bring out your best qualities instead of your worst. I’ve had friends before who’ve judged me, lied to me and made me feel like I wasn’t good enough because I don’t want to do certain things anymore. Like their friendship hinged on me being a certain way. I’d try to fit in with them, but it ended up being disastrous. Luckily, I have a group of friends now who make me feel happy and like I don’t have to tick some boxes for them to be friends with me.

They celebrate the good and bad times with you…and you with them

Bad times are, well, bad obviously. Be it some personal problems, losing someone close to you or just a rough patch in your life, it can be hard to go through them on your own. But if you have a good friend to talk to about it, it can make it a lot easier. Their advice can make things seem a lot better and you can end up looking at things in a way you wouldn’t have before. You can end up turning a really bad situation around for them too, just by being there and listening.

Friends are also wonderful to share the biggest moments of your life with. I remember when I got my first ever book deal, I told my best friend about it and I think she was more excited than I was!

What ways do your friends make your life better?

I completely agree, good friends are so hard to find, but when you do find one, treasure them!

coverNow, we are several days into the blog tour for Lynsey’s new novel, The Silver Bells Christmas Pantomime, which is all about how good friends can be a massive help, here’s the blurb . . .

This Christmas pantomime is about to be the talk of the town! Luna Bay’s festive preparations are well under way and the much anticipated annual pantomime is to be, once again, the highlight of the season. Too bad that the village’s very own actress and darling of Broadway, Alice Woods, isn’t feeling in the mood for Christmas.

Until the pantomime comes under threat and a grief-stricken Alice is forced to push her personal pain aside and step up to direct – after all, the show must go on..

So with (more than) a little help from her new found friends, not to mention one very gorgeous Hollywood A-list celebrity, the play begins to come together, but will Alice finally believe that Christmas is a time for miracles after all?

Want to be in with a chance to win a £25.00 theatre voucher for the ATG Theatre Group? Please follow the link below . . .

ATG Theatre Group RaffleCopter Giveaway

 

About the author . . .

71treavctul-_ux250_Lynsey James was born in Fife in 1991 and has been telling people how to spell her name ever since. She’s an incurable bookworm who loves nothing more than getting lost in a good story with memorable characters. She started writing when she was really young and credits her lovely Grandad- and possibly a bump on the head from a Mr Frosty machine- with her love of telling stories. She used to write her own episodes of Friends and act them out in front of her family (in fact she’s sure she put Ross and Rachel together first!)

A careers adviser at school once told Lynsey writing wasn’t a “good option” and for a few years, she believed her. She tried a little bit of everything, including make-up artistry, teaching and doing admin for a chocolate fountain company. The free chocolate was brilliant. When Lynsey left that job a couple of years ago, she started writing full-time while she looked for another one. As soon as she started working on her story, Lynsey fell in love and decided to finally pursue her dream. She hasn’t looked back since.

When Lynsey’s not writing, eating cake or drinking tea, she’s daydreaming about the day Dylan O’Brien FINALLY realises they’re meant to be together. It’ll happen one day…

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Lynsey1991

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lynseyjamesauthor/?fref=ts

Blog: http://www.lynseyjames.wordpress.com

 

 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

