Blog Tour · Bookouture · Brilliant · crime · Crime Thriller · debut novel · Emotional · Exciting · gripping · K.L. Slater · Killer · psychological · review · thriller

**BLOG TOUR** Safe With Me by K.L. Slater @bookouture @KimLSlater

I am over the moon to be opening the blog tour for K.L. Slater’s debut novel, Safe With Me, and to be sharing the honour with the lovely Vicki over at I Love Reading – be sure to pop over there and see what she has to say about this brilliant book! (after you’ve read my review of course!)

coverBookouture (3 Nov. 2016)

The blurb …

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even …

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do.

Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully …

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…

But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

My thoughts …

What a fanbloodytastic debut novel from K.L. Slater!

Safe With Me is absolutely gripping from the start. We meet Anna, a witness to road traffic incident in which a man is knocked off his motor bike and almost dies in her arms, but, while comforting him, Anna discovers that the car driver is none other than the woman responsible for her own disturbed and troubled past.

I have always had a special place on my bookshelf for those authors who manage to master the art of writing their story across two time frames and my gosh, Mrs Slater will be taking her place on that shelf! The story is told mainly in the present from Anna’s point of view but then jumps back thirteen years to her childhood where we slowly begin to see the reasons for Anna’s behaviour.

Slater slowly builds up a brilliantly intricate web of events, without losing the reader in any irrelevant side stories. It’s a great to skill to make every single word on the pages’ count; there is nothing in this book that isn’t important and that makes it even more fantastic.

Slater writes brilliantly and really gets you inside the head of the main character Anna. She leads a life of routine and her only real friends are the old lady next door and her cat. She doesn’t like people, she doesn’t like things out of place in fact, she doesn’t really like anything. Until she meets Liam. Having saved his life Anna realises that she can use this accident to her favour and take the opportunity to exact revenge on the woman who ruined hers.

There are some absolutely awesome moments in this book (which I can’t mention because I don’t want to spoil anything) and I found myself on a real emotional rollercoaster in terms of my feelings towards the characters, I hated and loved them all at different parts and for different reasons; I loved that!

I was totally captivated by this book from the start, it is truly a gripping read with some gobsmacking twists that will leave you breathless!

I absolutely loved this book and I really can’t wait to see what else Slater has in store for us!
I’d like to thank Kim Nash and the Bookouture team for my advanced review copy.

You can get your copy over at Amazon UK

authorAbout the author …

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim writes psychological crime thrillers for Bookouture. Her first book, ‘Safe with Me’ is published on 3rd November 2016.

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac. Between them they have three grown-up kids; Kim’s daughter, Francesca, and Mac’s sons, Nathan and Jake.

She also writes multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

Author website: http://www.KLSlaterAuthor.com
Twitter: @KimLSlater
Facebook: KL Slater

Advertisements

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s