#bookhangover · #TeamRoyGrace · Peter James

#Halloween Special #bookhangover with @peterjamesuk @LaraJohnJames

Today I am beyond excited to welcome my favourite author ever onto this Halloween special edition of my #bookhangover feature, the amazing author of the DS Roy Grace series of crime thrillers, he needs no introduction however, for those of you who have been living on Mars for the last twenty years, Peter is the UK’s biggest selling police procedural author, with 11 consecutive Sunday Times No 1s, as well as being a No 1 bestselling author in many countries around the world, he has been published in 37 languages in 52 countries!!!!

So, lets get started . . .

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Peter James, husband, animal-hoarder and author

What gives you an actual hangover?

The buzz from a perfect PJ Vodka Martini … This serves 1 author.

Ingredients

A proper, clear crystal martini glass of decent quality.  No other drinking vessel can be substituted. 

Grey Goose vodka (or brand as preferred, this is mine)

Martini Extra Dry

Four plain olives, pitted.

1 lemon

1 cocktail stick

1 cocktail shaker

Cubed Ice 

Method

Fill martini glass ¾ with vodka.

Using the cap of the Martini Extra Dry bottle as a measure, tip two capfuls of Martini into the glass.

Now pour the mixture into empty cocktail shaker.

Fill the glass to the brim with ice cubes and leave for 5 mins.

Pour these cubes plus fresh cubes into cocktail shaker.

Secure the top carefully then shake hard for thirty seconds and pour into glass.

Now you have a choice.  A twist or with olives – or both.  My taste alternates! 

For with a twist:

Cut a lemon in half.

Peel a thin strip of rind three inches long, and drop into the glass. 

Cut a lemon wedge, make an opening in the centre, and run this all the way around the rim of the glass on both sides. 

For olives:

Spear four olives with cocktail stick and place in glass.

For the combo:  The four olives as above, but wipe the rim of the glass with a wedge of lemon.

Enjoy!  But remember Dorothy Parker’s caveat:  “I like to have a martini, two at the very most… after three I’m under the table, after four I’m under my host.” 

What TV programme?

The one that completely riveted me just recently was The Night Manager – I could have watched many more episodes!

What film?

Return Of The Pink Panther – I think it’s the funniest film ever made and I can watch it over and over.

 What song?

Mr Pleasant – The Kinks. Because the lyrics are so good and I’m endlessly fascinated to know who this was written about.

What food?

Hot chocolate pudding with hot chocolate sauce and ice-cream, although this doesn’t work quite so well with my diabetes. Grilled lobster is another food I can be a complete glutton on.

 What person/people?

My family – Lara my amazing wife, Oscar and Spook – my two dogs I adore, Cosmo – our psycho but endearing cat and Alpacino, Fortescue, Jean-Luc, Boris and Keith our 5 alpacas, and our 7 hens!

 Finally, which book?

The Silence Of The Lambs, The Exorcist, Rosemary’s Baby – all these had profoundly disturbing effects on me! These three books I never wanted to end – so beautifully written and I learned so much form them about the techniques of writing.

 Thank you so much for coming round Peter! It’s been an absolute honour having you here!!!

Peter very kindly brought with him great box goodies for me to giveaway to one lucky follower, to be in with a chance of winning, all you need to do is sign-up and follow my Facebook page Here and then comment on the pinned post.

There are lots of ways you can keep up to date with all Peter’s news::

Peter’s  brand new YouTube channel: www.peterjames.com/YouTube

His website www.peterjames.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/peterjames.roygrace

Twitter: http://twitter.com/peterjamesuk

Instagram: https://instagram.com/peterjamesuk

‘Love You Dead’ – the 12th novel in the DS Roy Grace series has just been published in Paperback on October 20th.

And, his latest stage play ‘Not Dead Enough’, starring Shane Richie as Roy Grace and Laura Whitmore as Cleo starts on a nationwide tour on Jan 26th. You can see all details here… http://www.peterjames.com/plays/not-dead-enough/

 

2 thoughts on “#Halloween Special #bookhangover with @peterjamesuk @LaraJohnJames

  1. Great Interview! He’s one of the top authors I’ve been meaning to read so I picked up Love You Dead at my library. I’m really hoping his books don’t have to be read in strict order!

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

