#bookhangover · crime · Crime Thriller · debut novel · Emotional · Exciting · Feature Post · Jackie Kabler · Jenny Marston · JennyInNeverland · Neverland Blog Tour · NeverlandBT

#bookhangover with Jackie Kabler @jackiekabler #ETLBW @NeverlandBT

Today I have my first post of the weekend with author Jackie Kabler, today she is featuring on my #bookhangover post, so without further ado, it’s over to you Jackie!

Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Jackie Kabler and I’m a presenter on shopping channel QVC, and an author. I worked in TV news as a reporter and newsreader for many years though, and my first series of novels (The Cora Baxter Mysteries) is based in a television newsroom.

What gives you an actual hangover?

Red wine. The last time I shared a bottle with my husband I had a headache for three days. Never again! ‎I stick to white now (preferably with bubbles in it…).

What TV programme?

Any crime drama, from Silent Witness to Midsomer Murders. I love thinking about how they were plotted, the red herrings and twists and turns in the stories.

What film?

The 1984 film The Killing Fields (about the Cambodian civil war) stayed with me for a long time. I went to see it in the cinema three times, unheard of for me, and it sparked my first thoughts of being a journalist. ‎For a feel-good hangover though, it has to be Breakfast at Tiffany’s or Love Actually! 

What song?

The Whole of the Moon by The Waterboys. It’s quite inspirational.

What food?

Curry. I’m slightly addicted. If I don’t have a good, hot curry once a week I start to get withdrawal symptoms.

What person/people?

My family. When my sisters and I get together we laugh until we can barely move. ‎Then I carry on laughing for days, thinking about things we said!

Finally, which book?

It has to be The Sea, the S‎ea by Iris Murdoch. It won the Booker Prize in 1978, but for me it was one of the first books that really drew me into another world. I’m not sure I even liked the story that much, but the descriptions of its characters and setting were so powerful that I thought about it for ages after I’d finished it. It also had some laugh-out-loud funny moments! 

Thank you so much Jackie! It’s been brilliant having you here, I’ll be posting my review of The Deadline tomorrow as part of your #NeverlandBT #blogblitz and I just can’t wait to share it with the world!

thwvjoe8rx

Website www.jackiekabler.com

Twitter @jackiekabler

Facebook www.facebook.com/jackiekablerauthor

New novel, The Deadline: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01J448FDQ/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

