#bookhangover · Nicky Clifford · review

#bookhangover with author Nicky Clifford @NickyNovelist

Following my review of Nicky’s debut novel, Never Again, which you can read here, I am delighted to welcome her back onto my blog today 🎉🎊 happy publication day 🎉🎊 to discuss all things hangoverish! So, without further ado . . .

Who are you and what do you do?

I am a just-turned 50-year-old (who feels a LOT younger than she actually is!), who is passionate about writing: poems, articles, novels, anything really. Having recently taken up ballroom dancing lessons with my husband, Mark; I now have sore toes and blisters, but am loving it! I live in a little village in Berkshire, England and have two almost grown-up sons. As well as writing, I work for a local charity, which helps autistic children improve their social, communication and independent skills.

What gives you an actual hangover?

As I don’t drink alcohol, I would have to say sugar-free chocolate! I know, I’m a real ‘lightweight’ – Mark will be shaking his head in despair!

What TV programme?

Grey’s Anatomy – Mark and I watched every series back to back on Netflix, so it felt as if the characters had literally moved in with us!

What film?

It has to be Pretty Woman – I have watched it one or two times more than is strictly civilised . . . 

What song?

I was going to say the song that Mark and I danced to at our wedding, but I honestly can’t remember its name, having wracked my brain several times and even tried Google . . . oops! Ah – phew, I have just remembered it in the nick of time (my brain must be hungover from trying to digest too much information over the years – well that’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it!): The First Time I Ever Did See Your Face by Roberta Flack.

What food?

A great Thai meal, which always leaves my senses buzzing for hours afterwards.

What person/people?

My grandparents – I really miss them.

Finally, which book?

Any book that keeps me gripped all the way through, particularly romances, but if I have to choose one, it would be Caroline James’ Coffee, Tea, The Caribbean and Me – who wouldn’t miss such great characters and the chance to vicariously lounge around Barbados?

Thank you so much for joining me Nicky, it’s been great! Have a fantactic publication day and good luck with the dancing lessons, I’ll be looking out for you on Strictly Come Dancing!!!

Nicky’s new book, Never Again is out today and you can get your copy over at Amazon UK

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

