#bookhangover · Amanda Horan

#bookhangover with Amanda Horan @gobookyourselfx #ETLBW 

Today I have two #bookhangover guests for you and first up it is the absolutely lovely Amanda. Amanda is a fellow blogger and has given me so much help advice over the last few months since I started blogging – in fact – it was Amanda’s blog that made me start my own! I’m really looking forward to getting to know her a bit better so I’ll hand over . . .

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Amanda. I freelance as an editor and proofreader. I also review books over on my book blog (www.gobookyourself.info). I review everything from chick-lit to horror! As long as it has words, I’ll read it.

What gives you an actual hangover?

Wine. I cannot drink wine without feeling like death warmed up the next day.

What TV programme?

I don’t watch a whole lot of TV to be honest but I do love British Drama and Comedy. I really love Keeping up Appearances and Doc Martin. I was so sad when I read that they were only going to make a new series every second year instead of every year. I also really like The Apprentice. It’s my guilty pleasure.

What film?

I can’t just pick one. I studied animation so I’m a huge fan of that. My favourite animated features would be from the French director Sylvian Chomet. I love Triplettes de Belleville. He only makes a feature every few years so it’s there’s always a feeling of sadness at the end.

What song?

I listen to soundtracks more than bands or singers. I love Vide Cor Meum from the Hannibal soundtrack. It gives me goosebumps every time I hear it.

What food?

Homemade chips. Give them all to me now. Sadness is eating the last chip on the plate 😦

What person/people?

Bookish people! I love meeting my bookish friends at book launches or events. But we all live so far away from each other so saying goodbye is always hard 😦

Finally, which book?

The last book that gave me a hangover was Shtum by Jem Lester. It’s about a family with a son who is profoundly autistic. The writing was so authentic. It was an emotional read.

 

Thank you so much for coming over today Amanda … It’s been brilliant having you here xx

You can find details of Amanda’s editing and proofreading services over at:

http://www.gobookyourself.info

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

