Authors Reach · Blog Tour · Fantasy · Gina Dickerson · paranormal

**Blog Tour** Review of Mortiswood Kaelia Awakening by Gina Dickerson (@GinaDwriter @NeverlandBT)

Mortiswood by Gina DickersonAuthors Reach (27 Feb. 2016)

The Blurb . . .

“They’ve been waiting lifetimes for you, Kaelia. They want you and will stop at nothing to have you.”

The warning’s rung in Kaelia’s ears since she discovered she’s far from the ordinary girl who grew up in the coastal town of Margate. She has power. The first time she shows it, death strikes, the second, she loses someone special, and on the third, her mother disappears.

Destiny is coming for Kaelia and there’s nowhere she can hide. THEY have stepped out of the shadows to find her. For generations, there have been whispers of The Chosen One. They speak of a name – Marrock – whose destiny entwines with that of The Chosen One.

Kaelia must avenge the wrongs, uncover who Marrock is, find her mother, and …

FIGHT.

Facing forces of depraved evil, magic, and myth, Kaelia’s search leads her through magical forests and unearthly realms.

Who, or what, can Kaelia trust? Is she strong enough to survive the horror? All she knows is her life will never be the same again…

My Thoughts . . .

Mortiswood is the first fantasy book I have read and boy what a place to start!

The prologue of this book was really intense and creepy, it had me hooked from the off. Having never read a fantasy novel before I can safely say that I was really impressed, the imagination that the author has is wonderful, the world she has created is brilliant.

I really enjoyed the relationship that Kaelia started to develop with the new people in her life and the connection between her and Bran really did impress me, it jumped off the page and made me really feel for them.

Dickerson writes with such skill that a novice fantasy reader like me can easily follow the narrative. I wasn’t confused, I didn’t find myself googling specific terms (and even if I had needed to, Dickerson very kindly includes all sorts of assistance in the forms of a glossary of terms, creatures and even maps of the areas Kaelia travels in!)

All in all this book really did impress me, I found myself turning each page a little faster and promising myself just one more chapter before lights out (obviously I was lying to myself!) and I will certainly be looking out for the next instalment!

Thank you to Jenny In Neverland and Gina for providing me with a copy in exchange for my honest review.

About the author …

Gina Dickerson lives by the Thanet coast on the north-eastern tip of Kent with her family and playful Siberian husky. She writes dark fiction and is the author of the dark fantasy, adventure, romance series Mortiswood Tales, and Always Golden – a dark, twisted fairy tale, among others. She is a full-time author and has also been a columnist for her local newspaper. She designs under the name RoseWolf Design and is also part of Authors Reach, a co-operative formed with four other authors.
Gina’s Links

 

One thought on “**Blog Tour** Review of Mortiswood Kaelia Awakening by Gina Dickerson (@GinaDwriter @NeverlandBT)

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

