Bookouture · Brilliant · Kim Nash · Kitty French · review

Review – Melody Bittersweet and the Girls Ghostbusting Agency by Kitty French

melody-bittersweet-by-kitty-frenchBookouture (14 July 2016)

The Blurb . . .

Welcome to Chapelwick, home of the brand new and hilarious Girls Ghostbusting Agency series, where things really do go bump in the night.

When Melody “I-See-Dead-People” Bittersweet wakes up jobless and alone on her twenty-seventh birthday, she realises she can’t leave her life in the hands of her magic eight ball any longer. She starts her very own ghostbusting agency with best friend Marina, geeky, keen Arthur, and, of course, a one-eared pug called Lestat.

But the team’s very first job at the vast, gothic Scarborough House puts them in direct competition with Melody’s ex, the rakish, despicable Leo Dark.

The house is haunted by three eccentric brothers. Douglas was murdered in his prime (and his cricket whites), while melancholy Isaac and shifty Lloyd lived into old age. Was the family right to exile Isaac, or could someone else have had the means, motive and opportunity?

Whoever solves the crime and gets rid of the ghosts gets paid.

Can Melody and her crew untangle the mystery and bring the brothers peace before Leo? Or will his distracting sexiness, Melody’s bonkers family, and her “vintage” (read: shocking knackered) 1973 Ford Transit, cause the agency to fall at its first hurdle?

This is the PERFECT choice for fans of Janet Evanovich, Gina LaManna and Jana DeLeon, we’ll find themselves crying with laughter as they join Melody and her crew on their spooktastic adventure.

My Thoughts . . .

I’ve been threatening to review a none crime/psychological thriller for a while now and I finally got round to reading this and boy am I glad that I did!

I totally fell in love with Melody, who wouldn’t? She’s so thoroughly relatable, she could be me, or one of my best friends. Easy going, heartbroken (ish) and at a point in her life where she needs to make some changes before it’s too late.

Plus, she can see dead people! How ace is that?!

I have to admit, as a crime junkie I did find myself waiting for a dead body, and yes I know there are a fair few in this book, but not the kind I’m used to! It wasn’t a bad thing though, once I got past the expectation of a gruesome serial killer lurking on each page, I became totally absorbed in this ghostbusting world of capes and twins and Scooby-Doo style mystery solving.

It’s a really heart-warming read, that made me laugh out loud, cry and laugh a lot more! French writes exquisitely, creating a bunch of ultra adorable characters who I really want to know more about and follow through their ghost-busting journey!

I’d like to thank Kim Nash and the Bookouture team for sending me a copy in exchange for my honest review.

About the author . . .

USA Today best selling author Kitty French writes sexy, escapist romance hot enough to burn your fingers…

The USA Today best selling Lucien Knight series has been a hit around the world, and Kitty is now writing and releasing the Regular Sex series of half hour erotic reads, a weekly issue to make sure your weekend starts with a bang!

SIGN UP FOR KITTY’S NEWSLETTER for all the gossip and release information by emailing on kittyfrenchwriter@me.com

Kitty is also the disreputable alter-ego of a romantic comedy writer Kat French. She writes full time, and lives in England with her husband and two little boys.

You can get in touch with Kitty on Facebook and via her blog – http://www.kittyfrench.blogspot.co.uk, or you can find her on @kittysbooks on twitter.

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below :-)

